Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Spot removal  (Read 3540 times)

Nill Toulme

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 738
    • http://www.toulmephoto.com
Spot removal
« on: April 12, 2010, 05:12:28 PM »

Can someone give me some pointers on using the Spot Removal tool?  I can't figure it out, and nothing in the "manual" or tutorials seems helpful.  Sometimes (but not often) it seems to work, other times it doesn't seem to do anything at all, and other times still it seems to work sorta kinda, but not really.

Hmmm... I wonder if I have the wrong "mode" selected.  Until the tutorial I just watched (the Detail one) I didn't even realize there were different modes for some of the tools.

Nill
Logged

Jack Flesher

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2592
    • www.getdpi.com
Spot removal
« Reply #1 on: April 12, 2010, 06:47:57 PM »

You're probably correct on mode.  Note there is an option for Dust and another for Spot. Somehow the program knows sensor dust from a spot in the frame, for example a fleck of mascara under a model's eye as opposed to a chunk of crud on your sensor,  and won't remove the "spot" of mascara if you have the tool mode set to dust.  However, since a spot is more generic, it will remove almost anything you place it over much like the healing brush in CS.   Now for dusts, here's the neat trick: since dust usually sticks in one place form frame to frame, once you have all your dusts encircled -- the tool will say something like 8 out of 8 -- then you can copy and apply to all other images, removing all those same dusts from all your captures at once.  In use, it's very cool.  Note that the tool does a very good job so is likely doing some heavier math processing, so once a spot or dust is encircled it may take a few seconds for the software to render the removal.
« Last Edit: April 12, 2010, 06:51:25 PM by Jack Flesher »
Logged

Nill Toulme

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 738
    • http://www.toulmephoto.com
Spot removal
« Reply #2 on: April 12, 2010, 07:47:28 PM »

Thanks Jack.  It was indeed in Dust mode.  But I don't feel quite so stupid about having missed that, now that I see the Spot button at top of screen doesn't let you change modes, unlike all the other buttons on that palette.  Wonder why?

Nill
Logged

Jack Flesher

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2592
    • www.getdpi.com
Spot removal
« Reply #3 on: April 12, 2010, 08:13:58 PM »

In ver 5.1.1 on Mac, the spot removal tool has a selection window in it labeled "Type" where you can choose Spot or Dust and they're both active.  In earlier versions, I don't think the Spot choice was active yet as there were some bugs with it.
« Last Edit: April 12, 2010, 08:16:16 PM by Jack Flesher »
Logged

Nill Toulme

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 738
    • http://www.toulmephoto.com
Spot removal
« Reply #4 on: April 12, 2010, 08:29:24 PM »

Yes it does also on the Win version... but I'm talking about the cursor selection buttons at top center of the app.  That's what I had been using to select Spot Removal.  All the other choices have little arrows and drop down menus to select different modes, but the Spot one does not, nor does right-clicking it produce any result.  (But you don't speak right-click, do you?)

Nill
Logged

Jack Flesher

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2592
    • www.getdpi.com
Spot removal
« Reply #5 on: April 13, 2010, 01:24:30 PM »

Quote from: Nill Toulme
Yes it does also on the Win version... but I'm talking about the cursor selection buttons at top center of the app.  That's what I had been using to select Spot Removal.  All the other choices have little arrows and drop down menus to select different modes, but the Spot one does not, nor does right-clicking it produce any result.  (But you don't speak right-click, do you?)

Nill

It's not up there on Mac either -- but you can select it from the tool itself.  And FWIW, I DO use right-click with my Mac too ;-)  
Logged

Wayne Fox

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3385
    • waynefox.com
Spot removal
« Reply #6 on: April 14, 2010, 01:51:57 AM »

Quote from: Nill Toulme
(But you don't speak right-click, do you?)

Nill
Maybe you haven't heard but right click has been in the Mac operating system since OS 8 ... Around 1998

Nill Toulme

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 738
    • http://www.toulmephoto.com
Spot removal
« Reply #7 on: April 14, 2010, 09:07:39 AM »

That's good that you guys are making progress.  ;-)

Nill
Logged

edt

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 43
    • http://www.etimages.com
Spot removal
« Reply #8 on: April 16, 2010, 08:44:32 AM »


Good to know--now I will finally be able to use it! Since it didn't work properly the first time I tried it I just forgot it was there...

Quote from: Nill Toulme
That's good that you guys are making progress.  ;-)

Nill
Logged

James R

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 349
Spot removal
« Reply #9 on: May 31, 2010, 11:17:41 AM »

Here is a series of video tutorials from Phase One:  http://www.phaseone.com/en/Software/Captur...-Tutorials.aspx

"Optimizing your Details" deals with spot tool (towards the end of the video.)
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up