Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Z3200 IQ Issues  (Read 1688 times)

taxione

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 10
Z3200 IQ Issues
« on: April 12, 2010, 02:06:58 PM »

I've been printing with the HP Z3200 for about a year, and I've never had a problem with its output.  This week, when printing on Ilford Gold Fiber Silk, for the first time, I've noticed three seperate issues-all pretty major: 1) I'm getting a strange gray border around the outside of the image, at one end of the paper, only, 2) I'm getting noticable lines running through the image, AT THE SAME END, only (I guess this is called banding?) and 3) I'm getting lots of black ink splattered on the edges of the paper.  Before I call HP support, any ideas of how to fix these?  Thank you.


Adam
Logged

Ernst Dinkla

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 3326
Z3200 IQ Issues
« Reply #1 on: April 13, 2010, 03:08:07 AM »

Quote from: taxione
I've been printing with the HP Z3200 for about a year, and I've never had a problem with its output.  This week, when printing on Ilford Gold Fiber Silk, for the first time, I've noticed three seperate issues-all pretty major: 1) I'm getting a strange gray border around the outside of the image, at one end of the paper, only, 2) I'm getting noticable lines running through the image, AT THE SAME END, only (I guess this is called banding?) and 3) I'm getting lots of black ink splattered on the edges of the paper.  Before I call HP support, any ideas of how to fix these?  Thank you.


Adam

Have you cleaned the heads, the head carriage as good as possible, cleaned the capping station lid and after that a realignment of the heads?
Several threads on the same subject in this forum.


met vriendelijke groeten, Ernst Dinkla

Try: http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Wide_Inkjet_Printers/


Logged

taxione

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 10
Z3200 IQ Issues
« Reply #2 on: April 13, 2010, 07:57:16 AM »

Quote from: Ernst Dinkla
Have you cleaned the heads, the head carriage as good as possible, cleaned the capping station lid and after that a realignment of the heads?
Several threads on the same subject in this forum.


met vriendelijke groeten, Ernst Dinkla

Try: http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Wide_Inkjet_Printers/

No, I havent.  Are head cleanings simple to do?  Does the printer do it, or do I have to do it, manually?  Thank you.

Adam
Logged

Ernst Dinkla

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 3326
Z3200 IQ Issues
« Reply #3 on: April 13, 2010, 08:23:46 AM »

Quote from: taxione
No, I havent.  Are head cleanings simple to do?  Does the printer do it, or do I have to do it, manually?  Thank you.

Adam

Manually, there have been threads here on how to do it. Z3100 and Z3200 are alike. Check the Wiki Z3100 pages too.


met vriendelijke groeten, Ernst Dinkla

Try: http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Wide_Inkjet_Printers/
Logged

taxione

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 10
Z3200 IQ Issues
« Reply #4 on: April 13, 2010, 04:30:17 PM »

Quote from: Ernst Dinkla
Manually, there have been threads here on how to do it. Z3100 and Z3200 are alike. Check the Wiki Z3100 pages too.


met vriendelijke groeten, Ernst Dinkla

Try: http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Wide_Inkjet_Printers/


Thank you.
Logged

David Saffir

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 172
    • http://davidsaffir.wordpress.com
Z3200 IQ Issues
« Reply #5 on: April 14, 2010, 09:18:57 PM »

Since you have a new paper, have you checked that the paper size specified in the printer driver is correct? if the paper size dimensions you specify are too small, this may contribute to  your problem. (sounds like what happened to me).

David

Pages: [1]   Go Up