Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Getting "Fatal Error" message on Epson 7900.  (Read 6530 times)

Dan Berg

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1619
    • http://bergscanvasgallery.com http://bergscustomfurniture.com
Getting "Fatal Error" message on Epson 7900.
« on: April 12, 2010, 06:55:33 AM »

Before I call Epson I want to see if anyone here has any suggestions. I have the machine on but  not printing. Just happened to look at the screen and it has the Fatal Error message. Has happened 3 times. All the buttons are dead so I turnoff and reset. Everytime this has happened is was not printing. It has always reset and never happened again at least for that day. Is their a diagnostic mode I could run possibly to give me a clue what is going on? I was sort of in a panic Sat. morning when it happened again as 2 dozen folks were coming for the day for a mini canvas workshop and I needed both printers. Everything worked out fine but somethings going on.
As always its just out of warrenty

Just went to maint. mode and got the Error History "3000"
« Last Edit: April 12, 2010, 07:38:29 AM by Dan Berg »
Logged

fjmcsu

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 37
Getting "Fatal Error" message on Epson 7900.
« Reply #1 on: April 12, 2010, 10:15:35 AM »

Quote from: Dan Berg
Before I call Epson I want to see if anyone here has any suggestions. I have the machine on but  not printing. Just happened to look at the screen and it has the Fatal Error message. Has happened 3 times. All the buttons are dead so I turnoff and reset. Everytime this has happened is was not printing. It has always reset and never happened again at least for that day. Is their a diagnostic mode I could run possibly to give me a clue what is going on? I was sort of in a panic Sat. morning when it happened again as 2 dozen folks were coming for the day for a mini canvas workshop and I needed both printers. Everything worked out fine but somethings going on.
As always its just out of warrenty

Just went to maint. mode and got the Error History "3000"

About A week ago I received the same message as printer was ready to print from my RIP server. I restarted the machine as you did and have not seen the message again. I did not think to look at the error message history but I will later today to see if it is similar!
Logged

Doombrain

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 213
Getting "Fatal Error" message on Epson 7900.
« Reply #2 on: April 12, 2010, 12:04:19 PM »

Quote from: Dan Berg
Before I call Epson I want to see if anyone here has any suggestions. I have the machine on but  not printing. Just happened to look at the screen and it has the Fatal Error message. Has happened 3 times. All the buttons are dead so I turnoff and reset. Everytime this has happened is was not printing. It has always reset and never happened again at least for that day. Is their a diagnostic mode I could run possibly to give me a clue what is going on? I was sort of in a panic Sat. morning when it happened again as 2 dozen folks were coming for the day for a mini canvas workshop and I needed both printers. Everything worked out fine but somethings going on.
As always its just out of warrenty

Just went to maint. mode and got the Error History "3000"

That's a problem with the AC supply. try a new cable/wall point.
Logged

David Saffir

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 172
    • http://davidsaffir.wordpress.com
Getting "Fatal Error" message on Epson 7900.
« Reply #3 on: April 14, 2010, 09:25:38 PM »

adding to the comment about power supply - a surge protector is a must.

David


Scott O.

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 317
    • Photography by Scott and Joyce
Getting "Fatal Error" message on Epson 7900.
« Reply #4 on: April 14, 2010, 09:45:42 PM »

Quote from: David Saffir
adding to the comment about power supply - a surge protector is a must.

David

Agreed, but be sure to use only the switch on the printer to turn it on and off.

Dan Berg

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1619
    • http://bergscanvasgallery.com http://bergscustomfurniture.com
Getting "Fatal Error" message on Epson 7900.
« Reply #5 on: April 15, 2010, 05:46:56 AM »

Thanks
I had been rolling the printer around probably stretching the cord more then I should have. The only issue with that is if the cord pulled out from the back to break the connection the printer would shut down and not start up again until you push the start button again. When the printer was on I would hit menu and see this error. I guess its possible it wasn't pulling out and could be a defective cord?
« Last Edit: April 15, 2010, 05:47:35 AM by Dan Berg »
Logged

fjmcsu

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 37
Getting "Fatal Error" message on Epson 7900.
« Reply #6 on: April 15, 2010, 10:13:43 AM »

I use a Back-up UPS/surge protector unit and turn on/off the printer from the control panel and received the error but again that was the only time I have noted it!
Logged

Jack Flesher

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2592
    • www.getdpi.com
Getting "Fatal Error" message on Epson 7900.
« Reply #7 on: April 15, 2010, 11:46:54 AM »

Quote from: fjmcsu
I use a Back-up UPS/surge protector unit and turn on/off the printer from the control panel and received the error but again that was the only time I have noted it!

I use an APC 350, basically an extension cord with a battery at the plug end, and never turn the printer off.  Knocking on wood, but so far, so good...
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up