Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: What do I believe: Color Eyes or Spider3 Elite  (Read 4510 times)

cstanfill

What do I believe: Color Eyes or Spider3 Elite
« on: February 13, 2010, 01:16:24 am »

Disclaimer. I'm an enthusiastic amateur + know almost enough to be dangerous.

I've been using a DTP94b with Color Eyes Display pro for calibration for a while, and I like it. Also: my current monitor is an HP LP2475w. Meh,
not the best monitor out there but seemed to be a good choice when I bought it; I'm happy with it. It seems to qualify as a 'wide gamut' monitor
(though not pro-quality by a long shot).

So: I've read numerous opinions that the DTP94 isn't suited to wide gamut monitors, but the Spider3 does a good job. I bought the Spider3 elite package.
I profiled my monitor using the Spider3 software. It proclaimed the profile to be good. Then, for comparison sake, I fired up Color Eyes and validated
the profile. According to Color Eyes, the profile is horrible; it reports an average dE of 26.34 (!). I redid the profile using Color Eyes, and the validation
report shows an average dE of 0.70.

So: What do I believe? the Spider3 Elite software doesn't seem to provide the dE figures (is it hidden somewhere?), but it tells me that the profile
is acceptable. Color Eyes tells a completely different story; it says the profile produced by Spider3 Elite is horrific but claims to have produced a great
profile on its own. At least Color Eyes gives me numbers... but do I believe them? And is there a way to get Spider3 Elite to give me numbers
on profile quality?

For the moment I'm using the Spider3 with Color Eye's profile builder. Comments? Am I crazy/misguided/incompetent, or does the Spider3 software really produce
horribad profiles?

trinityss

« Reply #1 on: February 13, 2010, 01:57:24 am »

Hi,

I have a HP LP2475w myself.
I'm using an EyeOne Display2 and Spyder3 Elite.

The panels in a LP2475w seems to be the same (more or less) as in a IP240 Quato monitor.