Pages: [1] 2   Go Down

Author Topic: Budget Scanner and L.F camera  (Read 9588 times)

fredjeang

Budget Scanner and L.F camera
« on: February 02, 2010, 05:58:11 am »

Hi,

2 questions refering to large format:

A) Does anybody could recommend me a good scanner for LF? ( as well as for any type of film format)
I'm starting from zero in film and L.F and as I have everything to buy I need to consider for the moment
a second hand scan.
The ideal would be not spending more than 500 for the scanner and being able to acheive decent results.

What do you think of the Tachihara 4x5 ? Any user in the forum?
Would you recommend this camera to start in L.F ? (I've seen some very good ones at really good price)

Thank you very much.

Fred.

shutay

• http://www.asiaphotohub.com/Jason/
« Reply #1 on: February 02, 2010, 06:42:45 am »

I have been using a Graflex Super Graphic since 2004 when I happened upon one in a shop complete with 2 lenses, clean in working order. Soon after that, it was clear that I'd need a way to scan the film, and ever since, I've been using a Canon Canoscan 9900F, which has worked very well for me as a hobby. It comes as standard with a light hood, film holders for 35mm film, 35mm slide film (mounted and unmounted), 4x5 film and 120/220 rollfilm. Conveniently, it has both Firewire 400 and USB connection options. Resolution wise, the highest resolution takes a long time to scan, but I hardly even scan at the maximum resolution anyway. I haven't had any film flatness issues (or Newton rings) with scanning 4x5 film, but it does happen sometimes with 120 rollfilm. Not much else to say other than that my requirements are modest, and it serves me well.

LiamStrain

• http://www.streetlevel-photography.com
« Reply #2 on: February 02, 2010, 07:25:51 am »