Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Heidelberg Drum VS Imacon and V750  (Read 13142 times)

simplify

Heidelberg Drum VS Imacon and V750
« on: January 22, 2010, 06:18:48 pm »

removed

« Last Edit: January 30, 2014, 12:42:00 pm by simplify »

DanielStone

« Reply #1 on: January 22, 2010, 07:06:11 pm »

Hi Sam,

thanks for this little shoot-out. Personally I noticed the greatest difference in the cloud detail(zones 8 and 9), and the tonal gradation that the drum scan had versus the Imacon.

now, since I'm a poor photo student, most of my scanning has been taken care of by a local photo center's Imacon. that scanner is SWWEEEEET!!!

just out of curiosity, you mention "The Imacon and the Epson cannot scan higher than 200MB without interpolation, thus making it impossible to make a sharp large print over 30"X40" as compared to a print made from our Heidelberg scan."

please explain further if you could....

I can see the real advantage of a drum scan is for people who print large; like mural LARGE(Peter Lik, other landscapers, etc...) people who also have the budget to afford it.
getting a used Imacon for 4-5k can pay for itself after a year or two, depending on your workflow, and how much you profit off your work.

-Dan

Kirk Gittings

• http://www.KirkGittings.com
« Reply #2 on: January 22, 2010, 07:33:18 pm »

While I agree with the results. I have done similar tests myself. I have to take issue with your advertising hype. Show me anywhere that Epson or anybody else refers to the 750 as "Epson V750 flatbed "drum equivalent" scanner". Stick to the facts and drop the hyperbole.

Thanks,
Kirk Gittings

simplify

« Reply #3 on: January 22, 2010, 07:37:46 pm »

Kirk,  I see your point.  That is what a lot of our customers say the V750 is, not Epson.  We will take your consideration and edit the site.

Thanks,

CBarrett

« Reply #4 on: January 22, 2010, 09:16:01 pm »