Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: C1 - 64bit - Any Chance  (Read 3681 times)

ARD

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 296
    • http://
C1 - 64bit - Any Chance
« on: January 11, 2010, 05:09:05 PM »

As I am now running a Windows 7 partition at 64bit I am looking to upgrade certain programs. As the 64bit does make a lot of difference to speed, I have looked on the C1 website but cannot find a 64bit version - wish they would release one.
Logged

Mike Boden

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 132
    • http://www.mikeboden.com
C1 - 64bit - Any Chance
« Reply #1 on: January 11, 2010, 10:57:27 PM »

Quote from: ARD
As I am now running a Windows 7 partition at 64bit I am looking to upgrade certain programs. As the 64bit does make a lot of difference to speed, I have looked on the C1 website but cannot find a 64bit version - wish they would release one.

The current version will work fine with Windows 7 64-bit. I'm using it on Vista 64 bit.
Logged

bradleygibson

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 829
    • http://GibsonPhotographic.com
C1 - 64bit - Any Chance
« Reply #2 on: January 12, 2010, 12:23:30 AM »

Simply put, a 64-bit application isn't necessarily faster than a 32-bit one; its main advantage is that it can simply access much more memory than a 32-bit application.

So if C1 is not pushing the limits of 32-bits (~2GB on Windows), then I wouldn't expect to see much if any performance gain from a 64-bit version.  It is a non-trivial undertaking to upgrade, so there would need to be very clear benefits to accessing all that additional memory (e.g. Photoshop, for example).

ARD

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 296
    • http://
C1 - 64bit - Any Chance
« Reply #3 on: January 14, 2010, 10:18:45 AM »

The beauty of 64bit from my experience is that being able to access more memory improves performance with less accessing time of hard drives.
Logged

tho_mas

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1797
C1 - 64bit - Any Chance
« Reply #4 on: January 14, 2010, 11:04:08 AM »

Quote from: ARD
The beauty of 64bit from my experience is that being able to access more memory improves performance with less accessing time of hard drives.
it depends. Capture One adresses multi cores... you actually won't profit from more RAM IMO. At least not that much. On the new Nehalem Macs C1 is very fast (as it utilizes 2x8 = 16 cores). In conjunction with Snow Leopard even faster.
Logged

Nill Toulme

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 738
    • http://www.toulmephoto.com
C1 - 64bit - Any Chance
« Reply #5 on: January 14, 2010, 01:30:56 PM »

Quote from: tho_mas
... Capture One adresses multi cores...
I vaguely recall that 3.7.x required turning on an option to get it to address both cores.  Is that also true of 5.x, or does it do so by default?

Nill
Logged

tho_mas

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1797
C1 - 64bit - Any Chance
« Reply #6 on: January 14, 2010, 01:53:46 PM »

Quote from: Nill Toulme
I vaguely recall that 3.7.x required turning on an option to get it to address both cores.  Is that also true of 5.x, or does it do so by default?
the option in the preferences of V3 was introduced in a time when multi core was just introduced... if I remember correctly.
C1 V4 / V5 always utilizes all available cores.
Logged

ARD

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 296
    • http://
C1 - 64bit - Any Chance
« Reply #7 on: January 15, 2010, 11:35:14 AM »

Ah I see, I'll check if multi-core is an option to switch on. It might be that it works a lot better in Windows 7 owing to the environment, XP was not too good at memory/cpu management. I'll do a quick test of processing 20 images in XP then on Windows 7.

Thanks for all the replies
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up