Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: ImagePrint vs. Photoshop - Epson 9600  (Read 6836 times)

RogerEle

ImagePrint vs. Photoshop - Epson 9600
« on: January 06, 2010, 01:22:19 am »

Hello,

I am a photographer with a retail studio. I have the Ilford Studio system ... Epson 9600 with Onyx RIP branded with the Ilford studio name, configured to not be able to load/make other profiles (without spending 2K for an upgrade).

Ilford discontinued their canvas, so I tried the Lexjet Canvas printing directly from Photoshop (which was foreign to me - I have always done all of my printing to the Onyx RIP. The lexjet canvas was so much better than Ilford's - thank you Ilford!  

Then Ilford announced they were cutting the Pearl paper we used ... so I started looking for a replacement paper and ordered the Lexjet eSatin ... figured out how to build images of multiple photos for printing from Photoshop on roll paper and that is now easy and painless - and the Lexjet profile for their paper is spot on and much better than the Ilford/Onyx combination we were used to (a problem of red skin blooming magenta we had disappeared) ... the Lexjet paper is pretty ... but hey, how much better and more efficient could it get, so I ordered ImagePrint from Lexjet with the understanding that I could return it if it didn't knock my socks off.  

I did some Lexjet eSatin test prints from Photoshop and then through the different profiles and settings with ImagePrint and the difference only seems to be in a little gentler highlights in ImagePrint. (The Lexjet eSatin profile is not available in a DCM (Dynamic Contrast Matching if I remember right) version, so this could also be why it is a little gentler in the highlights... ) or it could just be a difference in the profiles...