Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Cleaning Old 35mm Slides  (Read 36436 times)

Shamrock

Cleaning Old 35mm Slides
« on: January 05, 2010, 07:07:28 pm »

Cleaning Old 35MM Slides:

I have a  l-o-t of old 35mm slides that I’ve kept in plastic slide pages for years.  Some of these pages are “archival” but others are not.  Even in these pages, some slides have visible dirt, etc (perhaps from when they were loose).  There’s even been some sign of “slide interaction” with the pages themselves over the years.

[1] How best to safely clean these slides?  
[2] Should remove the cardboard mountings first?  
[3] How best to remount these slides?  I still have some gray and white “GEPE” plastic snap-in mounts (no glass).  OK?  
[4] What about printout “slide labels” where I can enter name / address, slide ID, copyright notice, etc?

Eventually I want to scan these slides digitally for publication as I’m a published writer/photographer.

Many thanks.

wolfnowl

• M&M's Musings
Cleaning Old 35mm Slides
« Reply #1 on: January 05, 2010, 07:39:55 pm »

Hi There:  There are others who can answer this better than me, but I'll give it a shot.  For one, you can't 'completely' clean a slide while it's in the mount.  You'll end up with dirt around the edges of the mount.  It depends on how dirty they are, and what kind(s) of dirt you're dealing with.  If it's just dust, try using a brush - similar to one you'd use to clean your camera, to brush the dust away.  Be extra careful on the emulsion side.  It's generally suggested not to clean your slides with water, the reason being that as it dries water can leave behind water spots.  If you do use water, make sure it's distilled.  Better is to use a film cleaner - this should be easy to find at a good camera store, one that sells darkroom equipment.  I always kept the plastic slide mounts from slides I tossed, and I have no reservation in reusing them.

Mike.
If your mind is attuned t

John R

Cleaning Old 35mm Slides