Pages: [1] 2 3   Go Down

Author Topic: I'm a photographer, not a terrorist  (Read 37632 times)

Pete_G

I'm a photographer, not a terrorist
« on: December 12, 2009, 12:41:24 pm »

Oh dear, the police in the UK are causing trouble again. On the front page of today's Guardian is an article about how the police, in response to a call out by paranoid private security guards,  harassed a Guardian photographer as he was shooting a London office building. Previous to this I'd not bothered too much about the misuse of the Prevention of Terrorism Act in relation to street photography, but it looks like we may have to take it seriously.

http://www.guardian.co.uk/commentisfree/li...4-terrorism-act

The article ends with this:

"This is why I will be in Trafalgar Square at 12 noon on Saturday 23 January 2010 for the I'm a Photographer Not a terrorist! mass picture taking event along with hundreds of other photographers to exercise our democratic right to make a picture in a public place."

See you there!

Slobodan Blagojevic

• When everyone thinks the same, nobody thinks
    • My website
« Reply #1 on: December 12, 2009, 01:48:12 pm »

Best of luck and wish you all success! Tell the authorities that their frog-boiling strategies no pasaran.

RSL

• http://www.russ-lewis.com
« Reply #2 on: December 12, 2009, 02:10:16 pm »

Pete, I can't make it in person, but I'll be there in spirit. Right on!
« Last Edit: December 12, 2009, 02:10:32 pm by RSL »
Russ Lewis  www.russ-lewis.com.

Arminw

• http://www.arminweisheit.com
« Reply #3 on: December 12, 2009, 02:39:12 pm »

Yes it's becoming more and more difficult to walk around london and to take innocent picture of every days street life . I will be there to support the freedom of taking pictures...
You can't depend on your eyes when your

Jeremy Roussak

• Global Moderator
    • site
« Reply #4 on: December 12, 2009, 03:12:00 pm »