Pages: [1] 2 3   Go Down

Author Topic: Help choosing MFDB  (Read 11972 times)

Bill Lawrence

• http://
Help choosing MFDB
« on: December 11, 2009, 08:11:05 pm »

Hi All,

I'd appreciate thoughts on which back to be looking for, probably between a Phase One P45 (not plus) or a Hasselblad CF/CFV-39.  I'm a landscape photographer, usually "the grand landscapes", who shoots 4x5 and a Canon 5D, and prints digitally.  I love using the view camera as it forces me to slow down and compose, but the film processing and scanning is definitely a bottleneck in the workflow.  I'm considering a MFDB to put on the back of a 2x3 or 4x5 view camera, and looking for a used back in the 39MP range.  I don't use film above 100 ISO in the view camera, so don't really need hi ISO capacity, but would like to be able to be able to do exposures at 100 ISO for up to about a minute for low light situations.  Big sensor area is a plus, but it looks like the only thing bigger than these two is the P65+, which is out of my price range.  Low noise at 100 ISO is important, as is good color and tonal representation.  I'll probably pick up a MF body to go with the back, but since I don't own any medium format gear at the moment (other than a lovely Zeiss-Ikon TLR) and I want to use it on the view camera, I'm worrying about the back first and the body later.  I'm not so much looking for "which is best", but I'd appreciate any comments on the relative advantages and disadvantages of the two backs that might help me to decide which to get.

Thanks!
Bill
Bill Lawrence
Photography: www.lawrences

CBarrett

Help choosing MFDB
« Reply #1 on: December 11, 2009, 10:44:48 pm »

Bill, I think the P45 is going to be your back for long exposures.  I haven't used the Leaf or Blad backs, but I believe a minute is pushing it on those, whereas the P45 can do several minutes easily.  I have used the P25+, P45, P45+ and P65+ on Arcas and was always happy.

What camera and lenses are most common to your shooting?