Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Z3100 Firmware upgrade & blue to cyan shift  (Read 2015 times)

SimonOlding

Z3100 Firmware upgrade & blue to cyan shift
« on: December 09, 2009, 07:32:10 pm »

I have had a recent problem occur with my Z3100 which has caused me to attempt a firmware upgrade. The initial problem was a sudden and significant shift in colour of blues towards cyan which has occurred on 3 out of 3 paper stocks. The issue seems only to shift a certain colour range and not induce a colour cast though other colours or neutrals. Papers have been re linearised through the printer and printed exactly the same way through Photoshop with PS manages colours as I have been using for two years without change. I have done a nozzle check and all nozzles have are firing cleanly.

The only changes I have made recently have been replacing ink carts, Grey and Light grey being the most recent before the problem occured, both of which were the second carts in  twin packs.

As part of the  trouble shooting process I have attempted to do a firmware upgrade from 6.0.0.8 to the current 7.0.0.3-7. I can not get this upgrade to proceed without crashing the web server or print utility. I have tried using USB and ethernet. As soon as I browse to the .fwm file the application crashes. Even the HP proactive Support interface, which downloaded the update fails to open the embedded web server.

Is it necessary to upgrade to a lower firmware version first?

I am running a Mac Pro 2x2.66 DC xenon, 10GB Ram, OS X 10.5.7

Any help with this would be greatly appreciated.

Regards

Simon

Simon Olding
Photographer and Printer
Tasmania, Autralia
www.iccimagetec.com.au
www.simonolding.com

Colorwave

• Colorwave Imaging
« Reply #1 on: December 09, 2009, 08:19:14 pm »