Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: My Amaryllis is in Bloom  (Read 3002 times)

Etienne Cassar

My Amaryllis is in Bloom
« on: December 05, 2009, 12:34:08 pm »

Any suggestions as to how I can improve these pictures?

PeterAit

• Peter Aitken Photographs
My Amaryllis is in Bloom
« Reply #1 on: December 05, 2009, 08:20:52 pm »

Quote from: ecassar

I have 2 suggestions. First, how about a black or at least dark background? Second, reduce the exposure - some of the whites in the flower look blown out, with no detail.
Good luck.

Etienne Cassar

My Amaryllis is in Bloom
« Reply #2 on: December 06, 2009, 03:41:39 am »

Quote from: PeterAit
I have 2 suggestions. First, how about a black or at least dark background? Second, reduce the exposure - some of the whites in the flower look blown out, with no detail.
Good luck.
Thanks Peter,
I am no pro to argue but according to the histogram the whites are not blown out.  Shall I reduce the exposure slider in camera raw slightly to get some details showing in the whites of the flower?
With regards to the background I was thinking about a black one and will certainly give it a try.  Or better still try to find a dark green background perhaps, because I'm afraid that a black background will make it too contrasty.

Thanks for you suggestions.

Etienne

Ed Blagden

My Amaryllis is in Bloom
« Reply #3 on: December 06, 2009, 04:34:01 am »

Doesn't look blown to me.  Seconded about the black background though.

The flower looks strangely crunchy, and I wonder if you might have oversharpened it a smidge.  If you are using lightroom try the "portrait" sharpening preset as a starting point and then tweak from there.  Also, try a little (not too much) negative clarity to give it a softer and dreamier appearance if you like.

But at the end of the day it is your image, so it is really up to you how you want it to look.

Ed

Etienne Cassar

My Amaryllis is in Bloom
« Reply #4 on: December 06, 2009, 06:12:11 am »