Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: First canvas printing experiences  (Read 4570 times)

BernardLanguillier

• http://www.flickr.com/photos/bernardlanguillier/sets/
First canvas printing experiences
« on: November 29, 2009, 07:15:28 pm »

Dear all,

Following recent exchanges in this very forum, I have started to print canves with my Epson 9900 and thought I would share back with the team.

Rather arbitrarily, I have chosen to enter the canves world with a product called Lyve from Breathing Color. Lyve is a 450gr canvas designed specially for archival ink jet fine art prints. It goes with a matched water based varnish call Glamour II that can also be used as a mounting adhesive.

Here is a quick summary of my main findings as a total beginner:

- Packaging: just a small issue, but I had a head jam with my first print that is probably the result of the end of the 44 inch roll not being cut completely straight. Cutting the paper straight manually did solve the problem,

- Colors: so far so good. I have printed both in color using the icc profile provided by BC and in B&W using the Epson ABW driver mode and have been very pleased with the colors/tones achieved so far. One caveat is that ABW tends to lay a bit too much pigments on the paper. Moving from the default "darker" mode to "dark" did reduce somewhat the problem, but one should be careful when manipulating the paper prior to varnishing. It is all to easy to leave differential gloss mark on the print even when manipulating them with cotton gloves.