Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: MBP changes brightness by itself  (Read 4637 times)

dchew

• Dave Chew Photography
MBP changes brightness by itself
« on: November 14, 2009, 07:03:00 am »

I'm fairly new to macs so I’m hoping there is some setting I’ve got wrong that will solve this. I'm trying to figure out why my mbp changes it's brightness setting even though I have the "automatically adjust brightness as ambient light changes" unchecked.  It tends to get brighter, i.e. the Brightness slider moves up from where it is in this screen shot to somewhere above the word “ambient.” Boy I wish that brightness slider had a box where you could type in the percent.  Then I could just retype in the calibrated setting I like since it is between the F1/F2 presets.

[attachment=17916:Screen_s...01.55_AM.png]

The Energy Saver settings are as follows:
[attachment=17917:Screen_s...18.57_AM.png]
I understand that it dims itself when on battery, but that’s not the problem I’m having (I uncheck that box if I’m editing photos on battery).  There is some combination of operating on battery / putting to sleep / waking up on power that give’s my mbp a mind of its own and resets this.

It’s not that it is too hard to change back, just that I often don’t realize it happens and my editing goes screwy.

Anyone know why the mbp does this and if there is a way to stop it?

Dave

17” mbp unibody w/matte screen; OS 10.6.2

Jonathan Wienke

• http://visual-vacations.com/
« Reply #1 on: November 14, 2009, 07:34:34 am »

Look in your power management settings, there should be separate settings for battery and AC power. Whenever you switch, these settings override the current setting.

dchew

• Dave Chew Photography
« Reply #2 on: November 15, 2009, 12:00:10 pm »

Quote from: Jonathan Wienke
Look in your power management settings, there should be separate settings for battery and AC power. Whenever you switch, these settings override the current setting.
Jonathan,