Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Epson 3800 printer ethernet or usb?  (Read 3395 times)

34Ford

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 11
Epson 3800 printer ethernet or usb?
« on: November 02, 2009, 03:19:51 PM »

I just received a new 3800 last week and if I run a cable to it so it want be across the floor we are looking at about 30 feet.

I just want to know if using ethernet cable do you see the same feedback from the printer to the computer in the software?

Seems like I saw somewhere that usb gives more info. True? I prefer the ethernet due to not having to use powered hubs or powered extension usb cables.
Logged
Dennis

raysem

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 25
    • http://www.raysemenoffphotography.com
Epson 3800 printer ethernet or usb?
« Reply #1 on: November 02, 2009, 11:04:13 PM »

I use my 3800 on Ethernet - always have from day 1.

It provides all the necessary "feed-back" to your workstation.

No worries!

Logged
-- Ray --

Photographing the world at 53 degrees north.
http://www.raysemenoffphotography.com

howardm

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1647
Epson 3800 printer ethernet or usb?
« Reply #2 on: November 03, 2009, 06:14:30 AM »

ditto.  I've used 3800 via Ethernet from day one.  It all works.  no problem running any utilities, printer watcher, etc etc.  This is on a  Mac (10.5.8).

34Ford

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 11
Epson 3800 printer ethernet or usb?
« Reply #3 on: November 03, 2009, 07:14:32 AM »

Thank you very much. I wanted to hear it from actual owners before I went out and bought a bunch of usb cables.


Well I guess I can load the ink and see how this baby works.  
Logged
Dennis

tonywong

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 106
Epson 3800 printer ethernet or usb?
« Reply #4 on: November 04, 2009, 04:51:13 AM »

Quote from: 34Ford
Thank you very much. I wanted to hear it from actual owners before I went out and bought a bunch of usb cables.


Well I guess I can load the ink and see how this baby works.

If you were going to go 30' USB, you couldn't have done it without a hub/repeater, according to the USB guidelines. 16' is the maximum run length. Ethernet is a better way to go for long runs.
Logged

34Ford

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 11
Epson 3800 printer ethernet or usb?
« Reply #5 on: November 04, 2009, 08:26:32 AM »

Oh I had a discussion about what was involved in using usb over 5m over on the Photography On the Net forums.

Yes, Im very glad to hear that the Ethernet has the same feedback.

Logged
Dennis

jjlphoto

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 467
Epson 3800 printer ethernet or usb?
« Reply #6 on: November 04, 2009, 12:31:52 PM »

When my 4880 gets here, hopefully I'll be updated to Snow Leopard (still on Tiger). Is ethernet printing hard to configure? easy to configure? I'll certainly be back asking for guidance.
Logged
Thanks, John Luke

Member-ASMP

bigbrotherbob33

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 7
    • http://
Epson 3800 printer ethernet or usb?
« Reply #7 on: November 04, 2009, 01:18:35 PM »

Go with ethernet if you are that far away, USB only if you are close.  Oh and use a 6' cable to avoid problems.
Logged
Digital Printer


Bob J.

34Ford

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 11
Epson 3800 printer ethernet or usb?
« Reply #8 on: November 05, 2009, 10:47:02 AM »

Quote from: jjlphoto
When my 4880 gets here, hopefully I'll be updated to Snow Leopard (still on Tiger). Is ethernet printing hard to configure? easy to configure? I'll certainly be back asking for guidance.

Im sure someone can chime in on the configuring. I haven't installed the software yet.
But Im under the impression the main software sets you up for USB and you have to "also" install separate software (drivers) for Ethernet.

Logged
Dennis

34Ford

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 11
Epson 3800 printer ethernet or usb?
« Reply #9 on: November 15, 2009, 08:33:47 PM »

Well Im finally up and running. But after several hours with the printer not getting info back from computer.

Solution, DO NOT use the drivers and software that comes on the cd. Use the ones on Epson's website. Could have saved my a bunch of grief if I had looked there first.
Logged
Dennis
Pages: [1]   Go Up