Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Need advice: HPZ3200  (Read 4413 times)

Henry Goh

Need advice: HPZ3200
« on: November 02, 2009, 02:31:01 am »

I have no experience with HP printers but after many years using my Epson Pro Stylus 4000 (very light usage) and getting clogs because of my infrequent usage, I'm thinking of switching to HP.  My question is due to my infrequent use, will the HP clog easily?  Do I have to regularly run a print or 2 to keep it clog-free?  What about cost of ink compared to Epson?  Is the HP Z3200 ink archival?  Are there any persistent weakness or problem that one should expect with HP?

Thanks for any input.

Henry

Dward

« Reply #1 on: November 02, 2009, 03:03:49 am »

The HP machines spit a tiny bit of ink periodically to prevent clogs.   I've had a 3100 for several years with no clogs.    The HP is exceptionally frugal with ink----less ink usage than my Epson 4880.    Ink costs are comparable between Epson and HP.     HP Vivera inks are Wilhelm rated to 200 years, I believe (longer than Epson or Canon, if I recall correctly, though all three brands are rated to last a long time with no significant fading).   The HP is not built as heavily as the Epson 9900, and the Epson has a more convenient roll loading system.

I've been delighted with my z3100---and I'll be getting a 3200 in the near future.

Good luck with your printer!

David V. Ward, Ph. D.
www.dvward.com
David V. Ward Fine Art Photography

collum

• http://www.jcollum.com
« Reply #2 on: November 02, 2009, 03:38:55 am »

Quote from: Henry Goh