Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: is it worth?? leica IIIf  (Read 5624 times)

dchalfon

is it worth?? leica IIIf
« on: October 27, 2009, 04:37:13 pm »

i am quite new to photography (3 years), and my main camera is a canon xsi with a bunch of lenses. i always wanted to try a rangefinder, but the digital ones are so expensive for my pockets.
but today i found a leica IIIf in good shape for a good price. is it a camera worth buying these days? i was actually saving money for the upcoming leica x1...

JeanMichel

is it worth?? leica IIIf
« Reply #1 on: October 27, 2009, 05:35:02 pm »

HI,

You may want to check the Leica forum site for more information on this model --it dates from 1950's.  The forum  is at http://www.l-camera-forum.com/leica-forum/

If you are interested in using film with a rangefinder, you might consider a more recent M (2, 3, 4, 6 or 7). I would stay away from the M5. You shoud pay special attention to the posibilityof yellowing of the viewfinder on M2, M3 and M4 models - part of the assembly is glued with Canada Balsam and that may start deteriorating over time. My M# does suffer from that, but is still totally useable.

Jean-Michel

Misirlou

• http://
is it worth?? leica IIIf
« Reply #2 on: October 27, 2009, 07:05:24 pm »

I love my IIIf. I don't shoot 35mm film much anymore, but when I do it's usually with the IIIf.

1. Loading film is a complete pain, and takes a good long time.

2. The viewfinder is small and dim, and does not compensate for parallax. The focus window is separate from the framing viewfinder, and many IIIfs suffer from degraded silvering on the rangefinder mirror, making focus even a bit more difficult.

3. The available shutter speeds are different than the ones in standard use today, so you have to think for a few seconds every time you set one.

4. The shutter speed dial spins when the shutter releases, so you have to be careful where you put your fingers.

5. The film winding controls are all small and awkward.