Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Full Disclosure  (Read 2840 times)

MarkKay

• http://markkayphotography.smugmug.com/gallery/1305161
Full Disclosure
« on: October 20, 2009, 05:48:12 pm »

I applaud the idea of full disclosure and I hope that all web bloggers provide accurate information moving forward.   As a university professor, I do some consulting.   I am required and in fact  there is a university web site open to the public where any company I receive over 5000 dollars  in a year  is listed.  .I have confidentiality agreements with the company and while the information I learn and discuss is confidential, I have to disclose the name of the company,my role (e.g. consultant etc), and time.  There is one thing I am not sure I understand and write for clarification.  MR states that with an NDA he  cannot and/or will not disclose the   name of the companies he consults for.  Is this a requirement as part of the NDA or is it an individual's choice to disclose or not.

BernardLanguillier

• http://www.flickr.com/photos/bernardlanguillier/sets/
Full Disclosure
« Reply #1 on: October 20, 2009, 06:01:48 pm »

Michael was always pretty open about mentioning some of the companies he was working with. He mentioned doing a WS on behalf of Sony Canada recently for instance, so there must be a good reason for him not to mention other manufacturers.

Regards,
Bernard

michael

Full Disclosure
« Reply #2 on: October 20, 2009, 06:48:55 pm »

The only time I do not disclose companies that I work with are when there is no product review or mention on the web site. Then, it's no one's business but mine. If I write about a product that I've been involved with on a consulting basis, it's always mentioned.

Michael

wolfnowl

• M&M's Musings
Full Disclosure
« Reply #3 on: October 20, 2009, 09:29:30 pm »

Michael:  I'm not surprised by your straightforward and candid writing about disclosure, but I do applaud it.

Mike.
If your mind is attuned t

MarkKay