Pages: [1] 2   Go Down

Author Topic: Musings about the direction of commercial photography  (Read 9030 times)

clayh

Musings about the direction of commercial photography
« on: October 11, 2009, 09:06:18 am »

I have been a follower of Austin photographer Kirk Tuck's blog for some time. He always has an interesting twist on things, and I was struck by this recent post about the decreasing need for oodles of pixels for a lot of commercial assignments. Undoubtedly, his observation that we are seeing a decline in the number of high quality printed publications is correct. It seems every week another publications throws in the towel and announces they are either closing or going web only.

So this article led me to wonder: Is the future market for high pixel count MF digital backs going to be more oriented toward the fine-art user who needs the pixel density to make large prints, while the commercial advertising world will satisfied with web suitable lower pixel count images? I think it is certainly an interesting question, and something that the marketing teams at Phase One and Hasselblad need to consider.

dustblue

• http://www.moko.cc/dustblue
« Reply #1 on: October 11, 2009, 10:37:00 am »

Well, there are always the outdoor billboards, posters,subway/airport LED screens etc. The demands for MFD in commercial photography maybe decrease, but I don't think they would vanish.
Dustblue

Quote from: clayh
I have been a follower of Austin photographer Kirk Tuck's blog for some time. He always has an interesting twist on things, and I was struck by this recent post about the decreasing need for oodles of pixels for a lot of commercial assignments. Undoubtedly, his observation that we are seeing a decline in the number of high quality printed publications is correct. It seems every week another publications throws in the towel and announces they are either closing or going web only.