Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Eye One Pro and Snow Leopard on the Macbook Pro  (Read 4113 times)

chris moody

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 41
    • http://
Eye One Pro and Snow Leopard on the Macbook Pro
« on: September 30, 2009, 02:36:58 PM »

If this has been discussed before I apologise, but a quick look through recent topics revealed nothing.

I recently upgraded to the Macbook Pro running snow leopard from a Macbook 13" running Leopard. Whereas the iOne Pro Spectro worked fine using Eye One Match 3.6.2 on the Macbook, it seems screwy on the Macbook Pro 13".

Either it doesn't see the device or when it does refuses to let me (unresponsive) select the device to profile. The Eye One Diagnostic software doesn't run well either and comes up with error messages.

I ran a diagnostic test on an old ibook just to make sure the device itself was okay and it passes all the tests. I also removed the old version and reloaded Eye One Match and ran a disc permissions repair (on the Macbook Pro)

Anyone? Help please.
« Last Edit: September 30, 2009, 02:37:57 PM by chris moody »
Logged

Wayne Fox

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3455
    • waynefox.com
Eye One Pro and Snow Leopard on the Macbook Pro
« Reply #1 on: October 03, 2009, 11:59:01 AM »

Quote from: chris moody
If this has been discussed before I apologise, but a quick look through recent topics revealed nothing.

I recently upgraded to the Macbook Pro running snow leopard from a Macbook 13" running Leopard. Whereas the iOne Pro Spectro worked fine using Eye One Match 3.6.2 on the Macbook, it seems screwy on the Macbook Pro 13".

Either it doesn't see the device or when it does refuses to let me (unresponsive) select the device to profile. The Eye One Diagnostic software doesn't run well either and comes up with error messages.

I ran a diagnostic test on an old ibook just to make sure the device itself was okay and it passes all the tests. I also removed the old version and reloaded Eye One Match and ran a disc permissions repair (on the Macbook Pro)

Anyone? Help please.

Had a similar problem a few months back, this resolved it ...

http://www.xrite.com/product_overview.aspx...;SupportID=4399

larrybphoto

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2
Eye One Pro and Snow Leopard on the Macbook Pro
« Reply #2 on: October 03, 2009, 06:55:27 PM »

I have successfully installed the trial version of BasICColor Display 4.1.15 and calibrated my MacBook Pro 17" Unibody and an external Sony LCD monitor under Snow Leopard. You can go to their site at http://basiccolor.de/english/index_E.htm

Download the 14 day trial and give it a try. I used the Spyder3 calibrator, but the Eye-One is also supported.

basICColor display v4.1.15 (Monitor-Calibration and Profiling) - 08.09.2009
... new calibration algorithm (CIECAM02),
....automatic hardware adjustment of JUST viewing booth via software,
....Universal Application (Mac with Intel processors support),
....Colorvision Spyder 3 support
....support for Mac OS X Snow Leopard (10.6)
Logged

chris moody

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 41
    • http://
Eye One Pro and Snow Leopard on the Macbook Pro
« Reply #3 on: October 05, 2009, 06:28:30 PM »

No HP printers ever installed on this machine and I was hoping for a solution that doesn't involve buying more software. Thank you both for your suggestions anyway.
Logged

Wayne Fox

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3455
    • waynefox.com
Eye One Pro and Snow Leopard on the Macbook Pro
« Reply #4 on: October 05, 2009, 08:47:30 PM »

Quote from: chris moody
No HP printers ever installed on this machine and I was hoping for a solution that doesn't involve buying more software. Thank you both for your suggestions anyway.

You don't have to install a printer to have drivers for that printer.  My problem was with a brand new out of the box MacBook Pro ... i1 didn't work.  I don't own a HP printer.

Following that link and installing the Apple updates to the HP driver fixed the problem.  You may want to at least try it.

chris moody

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 41
    • http://
Eye One Pro and Snow Leopard on the Macbook Pro
« Reply #5 on: October 10, 2009, 07:06:33 PM »

Quote from: Wayne Fox
You don't have to install a printer to have drivers for that printer.  My problem was with a brand new out of the box MacBook Pro ... i1 didn't work.  I don't own a HP printer.

Following that link and installing the Apple updates to the HP driver fixed the problem.  You may want to at least try it.

Thanks again Wayne, I did all of this with no joy. Device still not recognised. What a pain.
Logged

ares

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 23
Eye One Pro and Snow Leopard on the Macbook Pro
« Reply #6 on: October 11, 2009, 10:26:20 AM »

I had a similar problem with a MacBook and solved by connecting the spectro to an external powered USB hub. If you have a powered USB hub you may give it a try.
Logged

chris moody

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 41
    • http://
Eye One Pro and Snow Leopard on the Macbook Pro
« Reply #7 on: October 11, 2009, 03:11:34 PM »

Quote from: ares
I had a similar problem with a MacBook and solved by connecting the spectro to an external powered USB hub. If you have a powered USB hub you may give it a try.

Cheers, will try that
Logged

chris moody

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 41
    • http://
Eye One Pro and Snow Leopard on the Macbook Pro
« Reply #8 on: October 15, 2009, 02:19:38 PM »

Quote from: ares
I had a similar problem with a MacBook and solved by connecting the spectro to an external powered USB hub. If you have a powered USB hub you may give it a try.

It works! The simplest solution. I guess this means the macpro USB power output is not enough to power the eyeOne pro.
Logged

Wayne Fox

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3455
    • waynefox.com
Eye One Pro and Snow Leopard on the Macbook Pro
« Reply #9 on: October 15, 2009, 09:36:49 PM »

Quote from: chris moody
It works! The simplest solution. I guess this means the macpro USB power output is not enough to power the eyeOne pro.

I have a 13" and 17" macbook pro which worked with the i1 just fine.  Wonder if some of them have a hardware problem?  Should be plenty of power from the Mac USB port.
Pages: [1]   Go Up