Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: For those that sell prints...  (Read 4070 times)

mbrphoto

For those that sell prints...
« on: September 29, 2009, 09:54:01 pm »

I'm looking to upgrade my printer, currrently have an Epson 4K that's seen better days.  I think it's fair to assume that with the recent rebates and price drops on the Epson 4880 that there's a replacement in the near future.  I'm an amateur who prints for my own, and occasionally sells and the  question is, does one  buy the discounted version or wait and get the latest and greatest?  So I'm wondering, if those that sell prints for a living actually re-print for sale items when they acquire a new printer or just print new work going forward with the new hardware....

Thanks!

dgberg

• http://bergsprintstudio.com http://bergscustomfurniture.com
« Reply #1 on: September 30, 2009, 04:13:40 am »

I started with Epsons 3800 and last year purchased the Epson 7900. I am keeping the 3800 for all paper prints to 17" as I find feeding seperate sheets in the 7900 more time consuming then I like to fool with. I print almost 100% canvas with the 7900 so it always has a roll of canvas loaded.
If Epson replaces the 4880 with a 4900 and solves the high volumn ink switch I may just add one to my Gallery. The best buy right now is the 3800. It has been updated to the 3880 but you will pay full price I think close to $1500 Yes their are improvements but very subtle for $600 difference.
To answer your question I just print  new work going forward when changing printers. I have many prints not yet sold, printed on the 3800 and it would take a keen eye to look at them on the wall and pick which model it was printed with.
3800 - Great buy!
3880 - Available this fall but not sure if you get $600 more value then the 3800.
4880 - If you switch inks alot I would stay away from this model. Unless you buy it as a dedicated MK or PK printer then it is a good buy.