Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Tracking the sky  (Read 2515 times)

laughingbear

Tracking the sky
« on: September 27, 2009, 10:21:38 pm »

Greetings,

I have no background in atrophotography, but I suppose my question could find an answer in there. I would like to be able to shoot the nightsky without the typical startrails, hence a perfect tracking device would be needed to compensate for movement.

Is there anything on the market that you know of which could be used with a DSLR or MFDB without investing into a fully fledged astro setup.

Cheers
Georg

feppe

• Oh this shows up in here!
    • Harri Jahkola Photography
Tracking the sky
« Reply #1 on: September 28, 2009, 04:43:44 am »

Quote from: laughingbear
Greetings,

I have no background in atrophotography, but I suppose my question could find an answer in there. I would like to be able to shoot the nightsky without the typical startrails, hence a perfect tracking device would be needed to compensate for movement.

Is there anything on the market that you know of which could be used with a DSLR or MFDB without investing into a fully fledged astro setup.

Cheers
Georg

Never done any, but a quick google came up with a DIY tracking platform, and there are numerous commercial ones out there if you want to spend an order of a magnitude (or two) more.

laughingbear

Tracking the sky
« Reply #2 on: September 28, 2009, 05:40:14 am »

Quote from: feppe
Never done any, but a quick google came up with a DIY tracking platform, and there are numerous commercial ones out there if you want to spend an order of a magnitude (or two) more.

Fan flippin tastic! Thanks for that Feppe!

Slough

Tracking the sky
« Reply #3 on: September 28, 2009, 08:30:38 am »

I see you've already got a link to the Haig/Scotch mount. Note that there are improved versions with better tracking. There is also the Dobson mount which is probably the same idea. And if you want to buy a driven mount, check out the Astrotrac.

laughingbear