Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Newbie - 1st Post  (Read 1714 times)

PaulDF

Newbie - 1st Post
« on: September 11, 2009, 05:18:13 pm »

Hi All,
I'm not a professional and have no interest in selling anything.  I do have lots of photos I would like to share with family and friends.  I am a conservative type when it comes to privacy etc. and harbor (what I think is) a healthy suspiciousness about the internet and keeping my info/data/family safe.

With that introduction in mind I would like to ask your opinions of the safest ways to share my photos with my friends and family.

So far I have signed up on and started using a couple of  photo sharing websites ie: Picassa Web Albums, Photobucket, and Photoshop.com - each seem to have their merits and drawbacks as you would expect.  I have not drilled down enough in each except Picassa to figure out all the details of how they each allow you to set permissions/access.  Picassa for example only has three viewing options for albums - Public/Unlisted/Sign-in Required (this sign in is just to make it available to anyone with a Gmail account - not a password you set yourself).  They also only have what I would call a 'Universal' setting to deny visitors the ability to download your albums - you cannot set or unset this on an album by album basis.

What I would ideally like to be able to do is to say, let Bob, Mike and Bill view the pics from our fishing trip in an album titled 'SpringFishingTrip09', but not neccessarily copy or download those pics - and to do so by telling/sending them a link and a password specifically for only that album.  In addition I'd like Mom and other family to be able to do the same with an album titled 'FamilyReunion08" and so on and so on.  If someone wanted to download/copy I could set their rights to do so - just like I can do in Windows with shared files as an Administrator by setting individuals rights to files to 'Read Only', 'Read/Write' etc..