Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: A question about getting exposure  (Read 2596 times)

mike.online

• http://mikedotonline.blogspot.com
A question about getting exposure
« on: August 31, 2009, 03:57:19 am »

Hello All,

First let me say that I'm not a big fan of people shouting out about their new blogs, looking to just steal traffic.

However, I've been running mine for about nine months now and I wanted to discuss what people do to get exposure. So far I have a decent base of family, friends and the related parties that are covered, about 150 visits a month (using google analytics).

While my blog started slow I'm been traveling in Europe and Africa for quite some time now (about 3.5 months), and I am now settled into a job in Addis Ababa, Ethiopia which allows me to travel within the country a fair bit. Hence I have been adding a decent amount of content and will continue to do so (four more are written, just getting a friend to upload them as blogger is blocked here).

So, now to my point. I think that more people might be interested in reading the blog, but I'm struggling to figure out how to break beyond my own social network. With a million blogs (or more) out there on the net how do you access a larger audience without being a nuisance? Naturally you need to have solid content and be able to communicate it well, but then what?

I appreciate any ideas of comments,
- Michael Martin
(blog link in signature)

ErikKaffehr

• Echophoto
« Reply #1 on: August 31, 2009, 04:08:39 am »

Hi,

If you have interesting articles in your blog you can just post a link on this forum, at DPReview or any relevant forums.
Registering with google helps, but I don't know how...

Best regards
Erik

Quote from: mike.online
Hello All,

First let me say that I'm not a big fan of people shouting out about their new blogs, looking to just steal traffic.