Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: A view on Tuscany  (Read 5708 times)

gabriele

A view on Tuscany
« on: August 30, 2009, 12:31:13 pm »

I'm a beginner, I've been playing with my Canon EOS 500D / Rebel T1i and Canon EF-S 18-55mm f3.5-5.6 IS for a month or so and been reading lots of articles and posts on LL. This is a photo I took on my vacations in Tuscany.
I'm keen on learning by making mistakes so any critique or comment is very much appreciated.
RAW development was done using Canon Digital Photo Professional, pixel editing and enhancement was done in Picture Window Pro.
« Last Edit: August 30, 2009, 12:46:23 pm by gabriele »

ARD

• http://
A view on Tuscany
« Reply #1 on: August 30, 2009, 01:13:16 pm »

I like it. Might have been better if you had stood further back in the arch so the top was visible, plus it would have led the eye into the photo. But still a good photo if you are just starting out - well done, and welsome to the forum  

gabriele

A view on Tuscany
« Reply #2 on: August 30, 2009, 01:31:49 pm »

thanks ARD. it was quite a casual shot, I definitely should have stood back but the tower was very small and it was difficult to find a good position.

cmi

A view on Tuscany
« Reply #3 on: August 30, 2009, 02:18:01 pm »

What attracted your attention so you shoot it?

button

• http://
A view on Tuscany
« Reply #4 on: August 30, 2009, 04:03:50 pm »

I think you've balanced light and shadow very well, and I like the shot.  My eye keeps coming back to the brush in the center (directly behind the iron gate), and I keep trying to look through it or around it.  I'm not sure what it adds to the composition, although I do like the fact that its yellow is carried into the adjacent wall.  Also, the top of the arch is cropped out of the frame- was this intentional?  

John

francois

A view on Tuscany
« Reply #5 on: August 31, 2009, 06:19:15 am »