Pages: 1 [2] 3   Go Down

Author Topic: Snow Leopard compatibility thread  (Read 29024 times)

digitaldog

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 11357
    • http://digitaldog.net/
Snow Leopard compatibility thread
« Reply #20 on: August 28, 2009, 11:23:15 AM »

Quote from: Gary Ferguson
I'm looking forward to the wonderful day when ....
there'll be an Eizo monitor with a Pro Photo RGB gamut, etc etc...

That will never happen when you consider that two of the primaries of this space fall outside the CIE chromaticity diagram (they are theoretical "colors").
Logged
Andrew Rodney
Author “Color Management for Photographers”
http://digitaldog.net/

Dan Wells

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 428
    • http://
Snow Leopard compatibility thread
« Reply #21 on: August 28, 2009, 12:43:56 PM »

iPF wiki reports that compatible software for Canon iPF series printers will be early October - that means I'm holding off my main machine until then (although I'll probably experiment with SL on my laptop). Anyone know about Capture One?

                           -Dan

Logged

Sigi

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 92
    • http://www.betterphoto.com/Premium/default.aspx?id=267034&mp=V2
Snow Leopard compatibility thread
« Reply #22 on: August 28, 2009, 02:58:55 PM »

Hello,

DXO does not work yet - below the official reply from DXO support:

"While Snow Leopard is not officially supported, the test team confirms that they have tested DxO Optics Pro v5.x under Snow Leopard RC.
 
They have noted that DxO Optics Pro v5.x is not fully functional on this platform. Users may experience unexpected behaviors under the "Select" tab.
 
If you have determined that you must use Snow Leopard with v5.x, we recommend that you not use the "Select" tab functions, but rather browse to find the images you wish to process and with your mouse click/drag them from the folders in which they reside into the filmstrip.


Further investigation will be performed as soon as we receive the final release of Snow Leopard to test with."

Siegfried
« Last Edit: August 29, 2009, 04:41:34 PM by Sigi »
Logged

Doyle Yoder

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 502
Snow Leopard compatibility thread
« Reply #23 on: August 28, 2009, 11:43:49 PM »

Quote from: Dan Wells
iPF wiki reports that compatible software for Canon iPF series printers will be early October - that means I'm holding off my main machine until then (although I'll probably experiment with SL on my laptop). Anyone know about Capture One?

                           -Dan

Check my post on the iPF wiki. You should be able to get the drivers to work.

Doyle
Logged

BernardLanguillier

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 9300
    • http://www.flickr.com/photos/bernardlanguillier/sets/
Snow Leopard compatibility thread
« Reply #24 on: September 01, 2009, 09:48:49 AM »


Capture NX2 not compatible for now.

http://luminous-landscape.com/forum/index....showtopic=37319

Cheers,
Bernard
Logged
A few images online here!

BernardLanguillier

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 9300
    • http://www.flickr.com/photos/bernardlanguillier/sets/
Snow Leopard compatibility thread
« Reply #25 on: September 01, 2009, 10:01:59 PM »

Photomatix 3.2.2 now Snow Leopard compatible.

http://www.outbackphoto.com/CONTENT_2007_0...x_32/index.html

Cheers,
Bernard
Logged
A few images online here!

BernardLanguillier

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 9300
    • http://www.flickr.com/photos/bernardlanguillier/sets/
Snow Leopard compatibility thread
« Reply #26 on: September 01, 2009, 10:07:04 PM »

Autopano Pro/Giga 2.03 not fully functional under snow leopard.

http://www.autopano.net/forum/t7033-snow-leopard-problem

Cheers,
Bernard
Logged
A few images online here!

mikeseb

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 482
    • http://www.michaelsebastian.com
Snow Leopard compatibility thread
« Reply #27 on: September 01, 2009, 10:40:30 PM »

From the Nikon USA website, just now:

Quote
Initial testing of Nikon software with Apple's new "Snow Leopard" Mac OS 10.6 indicates that there are incompatibilities with Nikon Capture NX 2, Nikon View NX and Nikon Scan, users of these applications should not upgrade their OS at this time. When more compatibility information is available it will be posted on the Nikon web site.

I have done an install of Snow Leopard on a clone of my boot drive, and on a preliminary test of the Nikon 9000, Nikon Scan opened and recognized the scanner. I had no film handy to actually scan, but it went through all the motions of moving the film holder to produce thumbnails. That's as far as I got. It's encouraging that the scanner drivers at least seem to work.

Of note is that Flexcolor 4.8.8 for the Hasselblad 646 scanner also seemed to fire up properly and recognize the scanner.

I'll do more testing and repost when I get a chance. Just in case there is anyone else out there still scanning film!

Logged
michael sebastian
Website  |  Blog

BernardLanguillier

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 9300
    • http://www.flickr.com/photos/bernardlanguillier/sets/
Snow Leopard compatibility thread
« Reply #28 on: September 02, 2009, 05:21:16 PM »

More experiences, Canon 5100 printer driver KO till early Oct.

http://luminous-landscape.com/forum/index....t=0#entry306601

Cheers,
Bernard
Logged
A few images online here!

Nick Rains

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 705
    • http://www.nickrains.com
Snow Leopard compatibility thread
« Reply #29 on: September 02, 2009, 05:36:11 PM »

C1 Pro 4.7 seems fine on a MacBook with SL.
Logged
Nick Rains
Australian Photographer
Leica Akademie Instructor
www.nickrains.com

knweiss

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 71
Logged

garyfcampbell

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 43
Snow Leopard compatibility thread
« Reply #31 on: September 03, 2009, 04:30:04 PM »

Hi,

I got Snow Leopard to work with the Z3200 just fine.  You need to throw away the old HP Printer Utility, the new one comes with the 1st Software Update you do after the Snow Leopard installation, do one right away.

The printer's panel is how you access the new HP Utility.  The utility will calibrate the screen with the built in Apple screen calibration stuff, or if you have APS instralled it will take you to APS.  So APS isn't free, I didn't understand that it would choose between the two.

However, I can't get APS running, it crashes, and X-Rite doesn't have a fix yet.

Gary
Logged

mikeseb

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 482
    • http://www.michaelsebastian.com
Snow Leopard compatibility thread
« Reply #32 on: September 03, 2009, 06:36:22 PM »

*DELETED* erroneous information
« Last Edit: September 07, 2009, 11:26:48 AM by mikeseb »
Logged
michael sebastian
Website  |  Blog

BernardLanguillier

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 9300
    • http://www.flickr.com/photos/bernardlanguillier/sets/
Snow Leopard compatibility thread
« Reply #33 on: September 03, 2009, 07:50:50 PM »

Open/Save issues found with PS CS4...

http://blogs.adobe.com/jnack/

Crash at save is the worst possible bug, it should make migration to SL an absolute NO GO for now.

Cheers,
Bernard
Logged
A few images online here!

Tyler Mallory

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 62
    • http://www.tylermallory.com
Snow Leopard compatibility thread
« Reply #34 on: September 03, 2009, 08:14:57 PM »

My Epson 3800 is working fine. You need to have rosetta running and reload the driver, as well as delete your old printer and reload it new. All my previous paper presets reloaded fine.

BernardLanguillier

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 9300
    • http://www.flickr.com/photos/bernardlanguillier/sets/
Snow Leopard compatibility thread
« Reply #35 on: September 03, 2009, 08:37:55 PM »

http://www.dailytech.com/article.aspx?newsid=16161

Criticla security hole on SL because of Flash player.

Cheers,
Bernard
Logged
A few images online here!

kikashi

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4873
Snow Leopard compatibility thread
« Reply #36 on: September 04, 2009, 03:46:44 AM »

Quote from: Tyler Mallory
My Epson 3800 is working fine. You need to have rosetta running and reload the driver, as well as delete your old printer and reload it new. All my previous paper presets reloaded fine.
Have you managed to get the control panel working, or any of its elements (such as Printer Watcher)?

Jeremy
Logged

Tyler Mallory

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 62
    • http://www.tylermallory.com
Snow Leopard compatibility thread
« Reply #37 on: September 04, 2009, 02:06:32 PM »

Quote from: kikashi
Have you managed to get the control panel working, or any of its elements (such as Printer Watcher)?

Jeremy


It is working, but seems a little slow. I think it's running through Rosetta, so that may be the reason for the slowness.

howardm

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1392
Snow Leopard compatibility thread
« Reply #38 on: September 05, 2009, 09:59:08 AM »

if you open the activity monitor, you should be able to see if program X is running under Rosetta or not (ala the Kind column) and yes,
Printer Watcher is a PowerPC binary.

Also, regarding this week's hysteria on SL & Flash, you have to understand that in a huge OS complete release, Apple has to freeze their components ahead of time in order to permit full end-to-end testing.  The last thing they are going to do is shove a new version of the always buggy, always insecure Flash into the release at the last minute.  Like they say, you go w/ what you have sometimes.

Anyone who has to get actual work done won't load a new OS in the first few weeks of availability unless they can be either sure there are no problems or that they can easily 'go back' to what was working for them.
Logged

johnkraus

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 70
    • http://www.johnkrausphotography.com
Snow Leopard compatibility thread
« Reply #39 on: September 05, 2009, 11:05:23 AM »

Quote from: Jack Flesher
Anybody running C1 Pro under Snow Leopard?

Capture One is working fine as long as you've purchased it already. The problem seems to be Capture One in Trial mode is buggy.
I've been told much software with activations codes are being broken by Snow Leopard. This happened to me with Bokeh, contacted Alien Skin, they fixed the problem.

Capture One 4.8.2 is working fine, including tethering with 1DsIII.


Logged
Pages: 1 [2] 3   Go Up