Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Vista - 2 monitor setup  (Read 2592 times)

nemophoto

• Nemo Niemann Photography
Vista - 2 monitor setup
« on: July 27, 2009, 10:29:37 am »

I've been running a dual monitor setup for three years now. (How I survived with one, I don't know!) Back when I ran Windows XP, you needed two separate cards to run two calibrated monitors, regardless of how many DVI ports a card had.

I need to replace one of my cards (the screen goes blank for a moment periodically), so I was looking at the newer GPU cards. Since Photoshop can now make use of a cards GPU horsepower, I started wondering whether two cards are still needed on a Windows box, if you run two monitors. Back on Windows XP, each card required it's own LUT, and each card could not have more than one LUT. I haven't seen anything regarding Vista.

Thanks for the help.

Nemo

Misirlou

• http://
Vista - 2 monitor setup
« Reply #1 on: July 27, 2009, 11:10:41 am »

Absolutely not. I ran two monitors from Vista from one card with no problems. The only potential gotcha is that some monitor calibration vendors don't make it easy to reload independent monitor profiles easily without rebooting. If you leave User Account Control enabled on Vista, it can dump your profiles when delivering a UAC message. So you need to reload them. If your calibration s/w makes that difficult, you could have to reboot. I use the ColorVision stuff for calibration, and that makes it all pretty easy - you can load any profile to either monitor at any time.

But, I would skip Vista and go straight to Windows 7 anyway, for a number of reasons. Vista can't do anything that W7 can't do better. I'm writing this from a cheap netbook running W7. I have an external monitor attached, and both it and the internal LCD are calibrated just fine.

nemophoto

Vista - 2 monitor setup
« Reply #2 on: July 27, 2009, 01:03:02 pm »