Pages: [1] 2 3   Go Down

Author Topic: Canon 20D close focus problems  (Read 10221 times)

drh681

Canon 20D close focus problems
« on: July 01, 2005, 03:56:21 pm »

right. five lenses(all EOS) "out of adjustment".

think it through, If it were the lenses, would not at least ONE of them been "in adjustment"?

For background, I have been using EOS stuff for seven years(I sold it for five), I know how most of it works and have not, until now, been baffled by a quality control problem.

Jonathan Wienke

• http://visual-vacations.com/
« Reply #1 on: July 02, 2005, 03:37:25 am »

not much for statistics are you.

or up on manufacturing process.

I have no complaint of these lenses on several different film bodies. so why would they all of a sudden be out of adjustment on a digital body?  and again I ask, why none of them will work with this body? five different lenses, bought over several years, and ALL of them are out of adjustment?
NOT LIKELY.

here is what I guess; Canon has moved the assembly of these bodies to an off shore plant. to facilitate the huge increase in unit volume they are using assembly jigs and sub-assembly of certain components(sensor+mirror box) and someone is passing that sub assembly at one limit of tolerances, while someone else is passing the body assembly at the opposite limit of tolerances. So both sub-assemblies "pass" their inspections; but together wont close focus.
The flaw in your theory is that most other 20D owners would be screaming about focus miscalibration if it had any basis in fact. I still think the most likely cause is user error, especially since you haven't posted any sample images or any explanation of your test methodology. In addition, Canon DSLRs are focus calibrated as a completely assembled unit with a "tool lens" that is used as a known good focus calibration reference. So your guess is pretty far off base.