Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Storm over Ullapool  (Read 3584 times)

Chairman Bill

• flickr page
Storm over Ullapool
« on: June 02, 2009, 06:25:58 pm »

I took this one in pretty low light as a storm raged over the loch. This fishing boat was making its way to the harbour - coming home, no doubt to the delight of the crew & those waiting for them at home. There's lots of noise, but I feel it gives it an almost painterly quality. I'd be interested in your comments
[attachment=14247:Coming_home.jpg]

RSL

• http://www.russ-lewis.com
Storm over Ullapool
« Reply #1 on: June 02, 2009, 07:13:42 pm »

Bill, It's excellent. Don't pay any attention to the folks who'll tell you to crop it.
Russ Lewis  www.russ-lewis.com.

John R

Storm over Ullapool
« Reply #2 on: June 02, 2009, 08:35:31 pm »

I studied it a bit. Love the brooding gray light with hints of brightness. And I like the ripples in the sea and the sense of real motion as the boat heads home. Very nice.

JMR

jasonrandolph

• http://www.flickr.com/photos/shutterpunk
Storm over Ullapool
« Reply #3 on: June 02, 2009, 09:58:45 pm »

Let me qualify my reply first by saying that I like the composition and the predominance of gray.  I can see the painting-like quality to it.  Now, my bias toward high contrast and monochrome comes into play: I would love to see a high-contrast B & W version of this.  I think the noise would translate well to monochrome, giving it a Tri-X or Rodinal-like quality.  Maybe I'm way off on that though, because the gray amplifies the emotional impact of the storm.  Nice work regardless.

wolfnowl

• M&M's Musings
Storm over Ullapool
« Reply #4 on: June 03, 2009, 01:38:43 am »

I wouldn't change a thing.  Nicely done.

Mike.
If your mind is attuned t

Chairman Bill

• flickr page
Storm over Ullapool
« Reply #5 on: June 03, 2009, 03:32:49 am »

Thanks for all your comments. Much appreciated.

Quote from: jasonrandolph
... I would love to see a high-contrast B & W version of this ...