Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Life Expentancy of a Phase 1 back  (Read 1807 times)

pflower

Life Expentancy of a Phase 1 back
« on: May 27, 2009, 06:23:35 pm »

Finally the prices of 2nd hand backs are coming down to where I can start to consider them.  But what are their life expectancies?  I have seen various P25s, P21s even some P30s at attractive prices but with counts of 100,000 plus.  As far as I am aware there are limited mechanical operations but is a P25 with, for example, 120,000 captures on it and (obviously) no warranty a disaster waiting to happen or (if the price is right) worth considering?

Obviously I am not a working pro, but I spend upwards of £2k per annum on film and processing so I can just about start to consider these things as making commercial sense.  But ...

Any thoughts?

Thanks

michael

« Reply #1 on: May 27, 2009, 07:19:22 pm »

I can't directly answer your question, but since a digital back essentially has no moving parts, there's is little if anything to wear out.

When I visited the Phase One factory a few years ago I was told that there are Phase backs being used for aerial mapping applications that have seen more than 1 million exposures and which are still going strong.

I would look at the buttons and the card door, and if these look OK, and the images from the back looked fine, then I wouldn't worry about the number of exposures.

Michael

Doug Peterson

• http://www.doug-peterson.com
« Reply #2 on: May 27, 2009, 07:19:23 pm »

See: http://luminous-landscape.com/forum/index....ing+parts\

The physical condition and where/how the back was used is much more important than the number of actuations. 200k actuations in a quiet clean inside studio by a still life photographer who cares for his equipment will be much less likely to have problems than a back with 10k actuation from a location fashion shooter who tromps through forests and along salt water beaches with his gear.