Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Printer Choices  (Read 2715 times)

Greenough Run

Printer Choices
« on: May 16, 2009, 11:14:27 pm »

Hi All,

My first post. I have been a film photographer for many years, but could use some help in making the switch to digital . I am looking for a good quality ink jet printer, and think the 17” models would be a good size, as in the past I had 16X20 C prints made from film. I am considering the Epson 3800 & 4880 and the Canon  5100. The Epson 3800 clearly wins on price, as I can get it for $845 after a $300 rebate (that requires buying $100 of Epson paper, but I figure I would be doing that anyway). My concern about the 3800 is that it doesn’t use the new vivid magenta inks. Since good color reproduction is one of my highest priorities, it seems that there would be a definite benefit to using the latest ink set. Does anyone have any information on the color gamut difference between the older K3 inks and the newer ones with vivid magenta – or has anyone seen side by side comparisons of the same photo printed with the two ink sets? The Epson 4880 has the new inks, but of course at a much higher price.

In researching printers I came across a review here of the Canon iPF 5000 from 2006, with a follow up in 2007. They made the Canon sound like a definite contender, and possibly superior to the Epson. I would have to assume that the Canon 5100 would be even better. Now that these Canons have been on the market a few years I’m curious what sort of track record they have. Are folks out there satisfied with their performance, dependability, etc? Also, there were comments that Canon’s owner’s manual was “dreadful.” Does anyone know if they have been improved? As a newbie, good documentation would be very important.

Thanks,
GR

bill t.

• http://www.unit16.net
Printer Choices
« Reply #1 on: May 16, 2009, 11:34:00 pm »