Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: All my cameras were stolen ...  (Read 3480 times)

tonysmith

All my cameras were stolen ...
« on: May 03, 2009, 05:32:45 pm »

My house was burglarized on Friday while I was on a business trip, and all my cameras are gone. I had a Sony DSC R1, a Canon S3 IS, an old Canon S500, and a new Panasonic Lumix LX3.

Hopefully, my insurance will pay for at least one and hopefully two (one large, one small) good camera(s) and I would appreciate advice on what you think I should buy.

I usually print around 8 x 12, and never more than 13 x 19, so I figure 10 - 14 megapixels is enough. I like wide angle and medium zoom always, and long zoom only sometimes, and I want a very good quality lens.

I do a mix of photography - landscapes, cityscapes, streets, people, family snaps, and I want to experiment more with macro. I am a hobbyist, not a professional. I like to travel light and am impatient with tripods, filters, and other things that have to be carried around. I am not accustomed to interchanging lenses.

I have grown accustomed to EVF and Live View and have begun to think this is the future. Therefore, I am tempted by Panasonic's new GH1 but my only SLR was prior to digital and autofocus so I am a bit ignorant of modern DSLRs and wonder if I should take that direction.

I use Lighroom and prefer to work in RAW.

All advice welcomed.

BTW Put a lock on your garden gate, make sure your back door can resist several stout kicks, and realize that burglars do know all the usual places where women hide their jewellery!
« Last Edit: May 03, 2009, 06:06:08 pm by tonysmith »

DarkPenguin

« Reply #1 on: May 03, 2009, 08:17:05 pm »

The G1 or GH1 would seem like a plan.

dalethorn

« Reply #2 on: May 03, 2009, 10:55:20 pm »