Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: D300 user, considering switch to Canon 5DmkII  (Read 5035 times)

Aaron Burdick Photography

• http://www.aaronburdick.com
D300 user, considering switch to Canon 5DmkII
« on: May 01, 2009, 02:49:54 pm »

Hi there,

I currently shoot a D300 but have been wanting to move up to full frame.  Really I want to upgrade my lenses but don't want to throw money at DX lens when I know I'll go to FF eventually.  Nikon has great quality FF glass with some minor drawbacks (14-24 - I want to be able to use filters, 70-200 - issues) including that they are all very expensive!

I mainly shoot landscapes (see my website if interested) and occasionally events.  I am very interested in the 5DmkII's 21 megapixels; as a landscape photographer I want to be able to blow my prints up to 20x30.  I also like that Canon has lots of good quality f/4 glass (I would be interested in the 17-40mm, 24-105, and 70-200 or 100-400).  HD video is also an awesome feature!

Questions:

1. How does the 5DmkII compare to Nikon D700?  What size prints does the extra MPs become realized?

2. I notice a lot of nature photographers like the Canon "colors" better.  While I think the D300 has great IQ, sometimes I have difficulty getting the same kind of milky highlights I see in Canon shooter's images.  Thoughts?

3. How good are the Canon f/4 lenses?  How do they compare to the Nikon full frame glass (e.g. 17-35, 24-70 2.8, etc.)?  Are they good enough for 21 MP?

4. Any other advantages/disadvantages to each system?  Why do you shoot the system you shoot?

Many thanks!

Aaron

stever

« Reply #1 on: May 01, 2009, 04:12:56 pm »