Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Canon Printers  (Read 2764 times)

jim t

• jimtsioles photography
Canon Printers
« on: April 24, 2009, 06:00:47 pm »

Just got off the phone with a Canon tech.  They told me none of their printers are designed to print from the Prophoto RGB workspace and that they recommend srgb.  This shocks me.  

Wondering what anyone else thinks about this.

John Hollenberg

Canon Printers
« Reply #1 on: April 24, 2009, 07:54:08 pm »

Quote from: jim t
Just got off the phone with a Canon tech.  They told me none of their printers are designed to print from the Prophoto RGB workspace and that they recommend srgb.  This shocks me.  

I have been printing from Prophoto RGB for the last 1-2 years, so it is a mystery to me what they might be talking about.  Perhaps when printing without using custom profiles???

--John

neile

• http://www.danecreekfolios.com
Canon Printers
« Reply #2 on: April 24, 2009, 07:55:33 pm »

Yeah, this makes no sense to me. You're going to convert your image to the profile for the output paper/printer combo anyway. I'm getting stunning prints out of my new ipf5100 and all of my images are done in ProPhoto RGB up until I print.

Neil
Neil Enns
Dane Creek Folio Covers. Limited edition Tuscan Sun and Citron covers are now in stock!

Jeremy Payne

Canon Printers
« Reply #3 on: April 24, 2009, 08:04:02 pm »

What was it exactly that prompted your call to Canon?  It doesn't surprise me that Canon retail customer support doesn't understand color management, etc.

The advice to stick with sRGB is probably good advice 99% of the time.  The gamut of the printer likely encompasses sRGB, the monitor likely shows nearly all of it and the advice given results in prints that look like the screen ... safe and sound advice for all but the most serious idiots like us.

What was your original question for Canon?

jim t

• jimtsioles photography
Canon Printers
« Reply #4 on: April 25, 2009, 02:23:37 am »