Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Paper Surfaces  (Read 1232 times)

felix5616

Paper Surfaces
« on: April 22, 2009, 09:47:23 am »

I print on an HPZ3200PS 44" printer. I would like some advice regarding different paper surfaces.  What parameters guide your decision to use various paper surface choices?,  when and why would you use a gloss paper vs a matte or watercolor paper. Is it the subject matter, detail you want to convey or something more complicated?  Are certain images better on one surface than another?

Justan

• Justan-Elk.com
Paper Surfaces
« Reply #1 on: April 22, 2009, 10:29:21 am »

The paper is a subtle but distinctive part of the presentation of the image. While I'm no expert, IMO some of the textured surfaces really shine (figuratively) when the texture serves to enhance the image. As example, I've done some snow shots on a heavily textured paper. The surface texture does a heck of a job of adding a sense of 3d to the image. I also shoot a lot of longish exposures and find that a textured surface enhances the painterly like quality of these kinds of images, while, at the same time, eliminating or drastically reducing glare from reflected light.

Geoff Wittig

Paper Surfaces
« Reply #2 on: April 22, 2009, 05:59:56 pm »

Quote from: felix5616
I print on an HPZ3200PS 44" printer. I would like some advice regarding different paper surfaces.  What parameters guide your decision to use various paper surface choices?,  when and why would you use a gloss paper vs a matte or watercolor paper. Is it the subject matter, detail you want to convey or something more complicated?  Are certain images better on one surface than another?

It's generally an æsthetic decision, with some trade-off's involved.