Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Capture One 4.7 - tethering Nikon D700  (Read 11374 times)

photolinia

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 78
Capture One 4.7 - tethering Nikon D700
« on: April 21, 2009, 08:41:15 PM »

Hello!

Sorry if this has already been covered...  I've searched, but did not see any topics about this...

I've heard that Capture 1 4.7 (I think that's the latest version that I tried) now can run tethered with Nikon (at least with the D3X)
Tried connecting it with my D700, but the software did not see any cameras connected...

Has anyone had any luck with this?

Thanks!
-ilya
Logged

ericstaud

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 389
    • http://www.ericstaudenmaier.com
Capture One 4.7 - tethering Nikon D700
« Reply #1 on: May 18, 2009, 11:56:58 AM »

Quote from: photolinia
Hello!

Sorry if this has already been covered...  I've searched, but did not see any topics about this...

I've heard that Capture 1 4.7 (I think that's the latest version that I tried) now can run tethered with Nikon (at least with the D3X)
Tried connecting it with my D700, but the software did not see any cameras connected...

Has anyone had any luck with this?

Thanks!
-ilya

It works just fine with my D700.  Did you specify a tethered session when you set it up?  If not, I think you just need to go to the camera tab and down at the bottom you will see a place to select which camera to connect to.
Logged

Kerry L

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 177
Capture One 4.7 - tethering Nikon D700
« Reply #2 on: May 27, 2009, 05:44:34 PM »

Quote from: ericstaud
It works just fine with my D700.  Did you specify a tethered session when you set it up?  If not, I think you just need to go to the camera tab and down at the bottom you will see a place to select which camera to connect to.

You might check on the communications protocol for the USB connection on your camera. For a PC / XP you need to use the MTP/PTP setting.
Logged
"Try and let your mind see more than your eyes.

Steven Draper

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 147
    • http://www.stevendraperphotography.com
Capture One 4.7 - tethering Nikon D700
« Reply #3 on: September 07, 2009, 03:00:05 PM »

Quote from: northernboy52
You might check on the communications protocol for the USB connection on your camera. For a PC / XP you need to use the MTP/PTP setting.

You cannot change the communications profile for the D700. It's fixed at whatever it is!
Logged
image examples are at my website  stevendraperphotography.com   and Polepics is      "Here"

JeffKohn

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1670
    • http://jeffk-photo.typepad.com
Capture One 4.7 - tethering Nikon D700
« Reply #4 on: September 07, 2009, 06:23:15 PM »

Quote from: Steven Draper
You cannot change the communications profile for the D700. It's fixed at whatever it is!
I find that hard to believe. It's selectable on every Nikon DSLR I've ever used. I don't have a D700 but I do have a D300, which is essentially the same camera except for the sensor. There's a setting in Setup menu (the one with the wrench) that let's you choose between mass storage and MTP/PTP.

Steven Draper

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 147
    • http://www.stevendraperphotography.com
Capture One 4.7 - tethering Nikon D700
« Reply #5 on: September 08, 2009, 06:25:03 PM »

Quote from: JeffKohn
I find that hard to believe. It's selectable on every Nikon DSLR I've ever used. I don't have a D700 but I do have a D300, which is essentially the same camera except for the sensor. There's a setting in Setup menu (the one with the wrench) that let's you choose between mass storage and MTP/PTP.

It is hard to believe but true!!

In fact there was a period when it was not possible to use Nikon Capture Control with the D700, an software update to Capture Control rectified this.

It also means you cannot connect the camera to a laptop and xfer the files as I found out in the field one day much to my peril. You need to take the card out and use a card reader.  


Logged
image examples are at my website  stevendraperphotography.com   and Polepics is      "Here"

JeffKohn

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1670
    • http://jeffk-photo.typepad.com
Capture One 4.7 - tethering Nikon D700
« Reply #6 on: September 08, 2009, 07:33:57 PM »

Quote from: Steven Draper
It is hard to believe but true!!

In fact there was a period when it was not possible to use Nikon Capture Control with the D700, an software update to Capture Control rectified this.

It also means you cannot connect the camera to a laptop and xfer the files as I found out in the field one day much to my peril. You need to take the card out and use a card reader.
DPReview's review disagrees. On page 12 the animated GIF at the top shows the USB setting in the Setup Menu. On page 13 they say
Quote
To test the D700's USB transfer speed we transferred approximately 420 MB of images (mixed RAW and JPEG) from a Lexar Pro 300x (UDMA) 8GB CF card. In this test the D700 performed fairly well, though you'll still get far faster transfers if you use a good CF card reader.
. This directly contradicts your statement that you can't transfer NEF's directly from the camera.

Capture Control often needs updated to recognize new camera models. And the fact that it worked after they updated shows that the D700 does indeed support MTP/PTP mode. Did you actually check the menu setting I described (also pictured in the DPReview review)?
Pages: [1]   Go Up