Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Contax Focusing Brighter Screen?  (Read 8879 times)

guyharrison

Contax Focusing Brighter Screen?
« on: April 17, 2009, 04:51:13 pm »

Hi,

I am a new member and have been learning a huge amount as I contemplate a breathlessly awaited, expensive, and daunting purchase of a MFDB for my Contax system.  I demoed a p45+ (many thanks to the outstanding people at Capture Integration) and that looks like the one for me as I am a landscaper and want the long exposure times.  Just need the lotto numbers . . . .

However, on the topic at hand, as I get a little older, and having seen the incredible focus precision necessary on these new backs, I would like to put a brighter focusing screen in my Contax.  I have seen references to three:

1.  Beattie

2.  Brightscreen

3.  Maxwell Precision Optics

Has the forum had experience with these and how have they worked out?  Is it a worthwhile investment?  I shoot routinely at small apertures (f22 - 45) and checking depth of field is very difficult.

Beattie and Brightscreen have websites but I have not found anything for Maxwell.

Any feedback would be welcome, as they are not cheap!  Also, if you know the winning lotto #s. . .

Thanks,

Guy Harrison

Carsten W

« Reply #1 on: April 17, 2009, 05:10:09 pm »

I haven't tried a Brightscreen for my Contax, but the one I had for my 5D left me wanting... I have heard only raves about Maxwell, and once I decide to purchase a screen for my Contax, that is where it is going to come from. One must make a call to him though...
Carsten W - [url=http://500px.com/Carste

tho_mas

« Reply #2 on: April 17, 2009, 05:40:02 pm »

Quote from: guyharrison
having seen the incredible focus precision necessary on these new backs, I would like to put a brighter focusing screen in my Contax.