Pages: [1] 2   Go Down

Author Topic: Questions about Agency/representation  (Read 9758 times)

dustblue

• http://www.moko.cc/dustblue
Questions about Agency/representation
« on: April 08, 2009, 12:53:52 pm »

Hi all:

Today I talked to a big Agency in Beijing and show my portfolio to them, they are interested in signing me, for five years: during these five years they forbid me to do any job on my own, any work I do must go through them first. And what they can give me is:  4A cases, starting from small campaigns(I graduated 18 months ago, major in physics, and jumpinp in commercial photography from that on;but I have not done ANY 4A cases), to the big ones(after I'm experienced).

So my questions are:

1. Is this contract a good deal? I would definetely lose some freedom if I sign it,  and any client I find on my own, I'll have to give the agency a portion of my profit(maybe 20%-30%). So if I don't get many 4A cases from them in the future,  I'll just give money away.

2. The Agency represents some european cars shooters, they told me the photographer only get 9%-11% of the whole budget(including production and retouching) which is usually 1500-2000$ per day. Do you guys believe it? Is it the same on your part of world?

3. What is the usual ratio a photographer get from the agency? Is it 70%? If I decide to sign the contract, I'll have to know some numbers to negotiate with them about the ratio...

4. Do you think 5 years is too long for a contract like this? I'd rather like it to be 3 years, but they said 5 years is the minimum...

I welcome any kind of reply/experience.
Thanks in advance.

Dustblue

mcfoto

• http://montalbetticampbell.com
« Reply #1 on: April 08, 2009, 04:43:50 pm »

Quote from: dustblue
Hi all: