Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Mounting Canvas on Canvas?!  (Read 8082 times)

Longbeach

Mounting Canvas on Canvas?!
« on: April 04, 2009, 03:20:55 am »

I am totally new to canvas printing/mounting but I wonder ... provided you purchase a good quality canvas on stretcher bars, can you secure a canvas print over the front using spray adhesive in order to avoid having to stretch the canvas? If the surface dimensions of the print are slightly smaller than that of the wooden frame, you would then have a thin margin which could be painted along with the sides using acrylic paint (say, black) and presto - a pseudo gallery wrap.
This would save some time and might look just as good. Would this work?

bill t.

• http://www.unit16.net
« Reply #1 on: April 04, 2009, 11:30:34 am »

Uh, NO!  What a mess that would be.

Much easier than stretching is to mount your canvas on Gatorfoam with Miracle Muck.  IMHO.

Cut the Gator a little smaller than your canvas, except at one of the long sides leave about 1 to 2 inches of Gator exposed.  Flatten the canvas over the Gator, run your hands over it to even out the fabric.  Tape down the full length of side of the canvas over the exposed Gator, I like blue masking tape for this.  From the other end roll up the canvas on a tube, fairly tight.  As you roll it up, carefully check for grit on the canvas that would put a bump in your glued down canvas.  Likewise wipe down the Gator with a slightly moist paper towel to remove any grit there.  With a 9", thin (1/8') foam roller spread Miracle Muck over the canvas, use about 1/2oz of Muck per square foot...measure it out in a plastic cup before starting, then pour it out over the Gator in a sort of zigzag pattern.   Try to take no more than 2 minutes to spread out the Muck, don't worry it's easy, don't neglect the edges.  Then roll the canvas onto the wet Gator.  Put a cotton glove on one hand and smooth it out.  This just works so good, I love it.