Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: What is multi-processing?  (Read 4151 times)

Mark F

What is multi-processing?
« on: March 26, 2009, 09:02:09 pm »

While I am not a beginner photographer I am still a relative beginner at post-processing, using only Lightroom.  I sometimes read about processing an image more than once, say for the highlights and shadows, and then combining the images.  How does this work with LR, which automatically loads my photos from the card and generates a thumbnail image?  I am not given the option of "processing" anything until the image is imported.

Thanks.
Mark

wolfnowl

• M&M's Musings
« Reply #1 on: March 27, 2009, 02:35:59 am »

Hi Mark:  Lightroom off the shelf doesn't give you this capability.

Mike.
If your mind is attuned t

francois

« Reply #2 on: March 27, 2009, 04:15:46 am »

Mark,
Just to add something on top of what Mike wrote above, you can read about dual processing RAW files in this article. The article speaks about ACR and not Lightroom. I found that with fill light and recovery, the need of dual processing is almost non-existant. But, I find it still useful when I have to deal with multiple white balance values.
Francois

David Sutton

• David Sutton Photography
« Reply #3 on: March 27, 2009, 05:03:20 am »

You could try it in Lightroom using Enfuse (http://timothyarmes.com/lrenfuse.php). I've used it to get a quick idea of how an image processed twice may look, but often have needed to go to Photoshop to blend manually to get the best results. That may only mean, however, that I just really haven't worked out how to use Enfuse.
David

wolfnowl

• M&M's Musings
« Reply #4 on: March 28, 2009, 02:36:51 am »

Quote from: Taquin