Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: LightRoom 2 file storage/backup questions.  (Read 2832 times)

hassiman

LightRoom 2 file storage/backup questions.
« on: March 25, 2009, 01:26:39 am »

Hi,

I am just beginning to use LR 2.3 and I want to start correctly....

I have been pondering how to begin and I was hoping some of you might point me in the right direction.

1. I have all of my RAW files on my Mac's desktop and they are organized at the top level by each of the 2 cameras they were taken with and then the sub folders of each organized chronologically with each subfolder titled by the location or subject of the images matter within each folder.

I want to import these into LightRoom 2.3 in a manner which will preserve this taxonomy. I also want to convert these RAW images into DNG files on import. How do I set up LR2 to do this?

2. I want the Lightroom files and the image files to live on my external Caldigit eSATA VR drive. This drive is actually 2 disks set to mirror as hardware RAID 1 so it is essence its own backup if one disk dies. How do I point LR to create and store the DNG files on this external drive and then set LR2 to back up so that the LR datafiles also live there? Would you say this is a good way to set this up or should the LR datafiles ( previews etc.) live with LR on the OS drive??

Is RAID 1 as safe as backing up to 2 different HD's?

Is it best to convert to DNG ( I like the fact that any LR image data is stored with the DNG and is not a sidecar file which could get seperated) or convert to DNG with orginal RAW file incorporated? How massive do these get?

When LR converts the RAW files to DNG does it move the RAW files from their original location to the location specified in LR preferences or does it only move the newly vreated DNG files?

Is it best to use LR2's backup utility and exclude the LR data from the Time Machine backup?

Sory for the long question...

howardm

LightRoom 2 file storage/backup questions.