Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Does LR mean grad filters are not needed?  (Read 2774 times)

Pelao

Does LR mean grad filters are not needed?
« on: March 18, 2009, 05:44:09 pm »

I am still learning to use LR. I have heard and read statements that some of the new adjustment options in LR2 mean that it's not really necessary to use ND Grads anymore. Is this the case - or is it overstatement?

Josh-H

• Wild Nature Photo Travel
« Reply #1 on: March 18, 2009, 06:02:43 pm »

Quote from: Pelao
I am still learning to use LR. I have heard and read statements that some of the new adjustment options in LR2 mean that it's not really necessary to use ND Grads anymore. Is this the case - or is it overstatement?

It does depend on your point of view - I however, beleive it to be incorrect and a clear missunderstanding of the purpose of the grad filter in LR.

The bottom line is it is always better to try and get the exposure correct in camera - rather than trying to correct for it afterward (even with the putty like flexibility of modern RAW files to be pushed and pulled) . If you shoot a landscape for example without a grad and blow out the sky, then no matter how strong a grad filter you apply in LR nothing will save it - the pixels are blown period.

If you use a grad filter in the field and 'save' those pixels from otherwise blowing out then the grad filter in LR becomes a creative tool for further darkening or lightening the sky as one wishes.

In reality - provided the pixels in the sky are not blown at time of exposure the grad filter in LR can be used as a substitute for a grad filter in the field. However, when shooting landscapes I dont leave home without my grads - even with the capability of modern cameras to capture huge dynamic range nature is easily able to exceed the cameras capabilities on a more then frequent basis.