Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Epson 9900 Experience & Some Questions  (Read 2321 times)

sergepole

Epson 9900 Experience & Some Questions
« on: March 17, 2009, 12:20:51 am »

I'm a newbie here, so please take this into consideration when responding (which I hope some folks will  ...)

Got four beefy friends & hauled the 9900 up on its stand.  Note to Epson Human Factors Division: As I contemplated the universe under the 9900 whilst my four beefy friends suspended the printer above me -- it'd be nice if out of the sea of matte black paint under the printer there were (say) a DAY-GLO Orange (or similar) series of ever smaller concentric circles pointing out the holes that the matte black posts were to slip in to.  Needless to say, there were some "Hey, we can't hold this thing up forever, locate the bleepin' holes"  -- followed by, "I'm trying, I'm trying!!"

Other than the above, the install went very easily.  The 150ml carts don't leave much ink for printing after they have charged the lines, but that's life.

For fellow Mac Brethern out there: There seems to be a problem with Bonjour & the 9900 (maybe the 7900, too). Could only be Bonjour under Leopard. Anyway -- it seems as if once you 'touch' the printer's ethernet port with Bonjour, it looks as if you'll need to power cycle or Reset the printer before the 'real' ethernet connection method can be successfully used (that would be the 'other choice,' the Epson TCP/IP route).  And even though it isn't supported, I have a Linksys WET54GV2 wireless connection that's working just fine with Epson TCP/IP + CS4 Extended.

Question remains about the max print size that the combination of CS4 Extended + Leopard + Epson's drivers can support.  CS4 is apparently OK up to 300K pixels in any direction.  Anyone know for sure what max pixels the driver will support ?  I could just load & go, but potentially wasting a bucket of Epson ink & not knowing for sure what the threshold was that I tripped over isn't my idea of fun.