Pages: [1] 2   Go Down

Author Topic: depth of focus question  (Read 6830 times)

howard smith

depth of focus question
« on: July 21, 2005, 04:36:24 pm »

Don, lot's of info in that question.  I am an engineer (nuclear, not optical) but Michael Reichmann says, on this site, that:

"There was a query in October, 2001 on my Discussion Forum as to whether Depth of Field was calculated any differently for digital Vs. film. The answer is, no. There is no difference whosesoever. DOF doesn't care about the recording media type or size, ... ."

howard smith

depth of focus question
« Reply #1 on: July 21, 2005, 06:31:15 pm »

I confused depth of field and depth of focus.  Sorry.

DonWeston

depth of focus question
« Reply #2 on: July 25, 2005, 08:29:52 am »

Here we go again...

What you're asking about is really depth of field, not depth of focus. Digital sensors are far flatter than film ever was, so depth of focus is a complete non-issue unless you're trying to calculate how sharply focused sensor dust will be at f/22.