Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Hello from a new user!  (Read 2761 times)

CharlesD

Hello from a new user!
« on: March 14, 2009, 09:08:47 pm »

First off I'd like to introduce myself and send a little hello to everyone! I'm a digital photographer from Montreal doing his homework on MF before his purchase. I knew very little a while ago about this format, and even as I read threads here, I know I have many years of reading in front of me before I can honestly say that I know what I'm talking about. I sincerely hope to do a bit of that progress here on this board, seeing as inputs from people is much better than random readings around the web.

So after getting a degree in film school, I decided to take a break from all the teamwork and enjoy art by myself for a while. I scraped my pockets and got a Nikon D40 with a 50mm lens. Very versatile and surprising camera. I found myself shooting every night with friends, going on random roadtrips with a bunch of photographers and making a few bucks here and there. I'm having the time of my life. A lot more fun and intimate than cinema!

So I've reading a lot, experimenting, trying out new stuff, sketching compositions. I was looking for a cheap alternative to get bigger prints and finer details. Big digital cameras are way too expensive for me, so I looked into film cameras. I discovered MF cameras and snooped around for bargains. On the plus, while digital photography is great to experiment with, there just is something about film that makes it sacred. I want to WORK in order to get a good shot. Think hard, make mistakes, and get away a bit from all the LCD's and gadgets.