Pages: [1] 2   Go Down

Author Topic: The truth about dynamic range  (Read 8276 times)

jpm

The truth about dynamic range
« on: February 12, 2009, 04:04:53 am »

Hi,

This is my first post on this forum, and I am only a casual photographer. I mainly shoot outdoors, usually in the mountains.
I have owned a 10D for many years, and was never fully satisfied by IQ. Mainly because of poor dynamic range. I think I did better images with my non-digital eos.

I went to several shops, and they all told me that the 10D was an old gear, that I should spend again 700 et 1000 euros to buy a 40D.
I am a bit upset because I don't want to spend 1000 euros on a body every 5 years or so...

Then I went to DXO mark and did some comparison. I realised there have been simply no progress at all on dynamic range at 100 iso betweeen the 10D and 40D for example. Of course, at highier iso there is a huge gap, but it does not really matter for me because I usually shoot with enough light.

So I am wondering: who is correct here? Shop dealers or DXO mark?
Should I buy another body or a fast prime lens to shoot at 100 iso with my 10D?

JPM

NikoJorj

• http://nikojorj.free.fr/
« Reply #1 on: February 12, 2009, 04:39:16 am »

Quote from: jpm
I mainly shoot outdoors, usually in the mountains.
I have owned a 10D for many years, and was never fully satisfied by IQ. Mainly because of poor dynamic range. I think I did better images with my non-digital eos.
I also shoot in the mountains, and I got the same sensor in my good'ol 300d - which I'm also very reluctant to change for marketing reasons.
However, my experience is different : in the past millenia, I shot mainly slides (a bit of negative B&W too though) and digital is a huge improvement in DR for me (and still improvement over negative, at least because I got more control - and more colors too  ).

When you refer to film, you may talk about negative film? If not, I'd say it's clearly a post-processing (treatment) problem.