Pages: [1] 2   Go Down

Author Topic: Getting into MF digital from DSLR  (Read 7054 times)

Jonathan Lee

Getting into MF digital from DSLR
« on: January 28, 2009, 01:15:40 pm »

First post here. I am considering moving back into Hasselblad MF, this time with a digital back. I am an amateur who does mainly urban and nature landscape. Right now, I use a Leica DMR. I also have a Leica M8 for travel.  Their IQ is superb, but I like the square format and the WL viewfinder experience of Hasselblad. I found a used P20 back for an affordable price and I can pretty much buy an entire 500CM system for what I just sold my M6TTL for.

My objective is to recreate an LF creative experience: previsualize, setup, meter etc without going back to LF film.  I am also thinking that a Phase One 20 is going to be a setup in IQ over the DMR, especially since I end up cropping a lot of my DMR shots square.  I also assume that at some point, a full frame 6x6 sensor will become available for V-series cameras at a reasonable price. Any thoughts on any of these ideas?

Juanito

• John Raymond Mireles
« Reply #1 on: January 28, 2009, 10:02:57 pm »

Quote from: Jonathan Lee
I also assume that at some point, a full frame 6x6 sensor will become available for V-series cameras at a reasonable price. Any thoughts on any of these ideas?

I wouldn't hold your breath on that. Hasselblad and all the others seem pretty committed to their 645 systems. Unless you have money to burn, I'd stick with small format. The new Canon's have the pixels and the have the tilt-shift lenses. I'm not seeing a whole lot of difference in the final prints either. Not $20k worth anyhow.