Raw & Post Processing, Printing > Printing: Printers, Papers and Inks

Opinion needed: Best Rag paper for archival printing

(1/4) > >>

Henry Goh:
I wish to move to using rag-based archival media.  I have no experience yet with rag, using mostly Epson Premium Luster and Gloss papers.  I want to now use rag for better permanence.  Can you guys please share some of your findings because it is quite difficult to even buy such material where I am so experimenting is going to be tough.  Thanks a zillion.

bill t.:

--- Quote from: Henry Goh ---Can you guys please share some of your findings because it is quite difficult to even buy such material where I am so experimenting is going to be tough.  Thanks a zillion.
--- End quote ---
First...those fine art rag papers look VERY different than Premium Luster and the glossy papers.  I mean, REALLY different!

You probably should buy a few sample packs, there are a few links below.  Besides differences in image quality, a big difference among the rag papers is the surface texture.  There are huge variations in the surface texture from no texture at all, to very textured.  The sample packs will help you decide what you like.

The smooth rag papers make very sharp, relatively high contrast prints, the more textured papers are less sharp and usually have less contrast.

A good transition paper between Premium Luster and rag papers might be Epson UltraSmooth Fine Art paper, which I am sure you can find in Singapore.  It is very smooth so it prints sharp.  The color and contrast are on the high side for a matte paper, but really nowhere near the glossies.  It is expensive, 2 or 3 times more than Epson RC papers.  It is highly archival.

If you just want to experiment with matte papers, try Epson Enhanced Matte.  In terms of print contrast it is one of the closest matte papers to the glossy RC papers.  It is not fully archival, although it has very good ratings from the testing labs.  If costs less than Epson RC papers.