Pages: [1] 2   Go Down

Author Topic: Nikon D100 vs. Fuji S2  (Read 9112 times)

Quentin

• Quentin on Facebook
Nikon D100 vs. Fuji S2
« on: August 01, 2003, 02:29:26 pm »

Robert,

You need to adapt your working methods to the tool.  

I have a lot of experience with the S2.  The dynamic range is wide, but for best image quality, you need to shoot raw, and keep an eye on the histograms to prevent your highlights burning out.  

Quentin
Quentin Bargate, ARPS, Author, Arbitrato

Quentin

• Quentin on Facebook
Nikon D100 vs. Fuji S2
« Reply #1 on: August 02, 2003, 09:36:47 am »

Hello All,

Just a reminder about the dynamic range question....see above.

Quentin: why would I want to purchase a digital camera body if it cannot capture the same dynamic range as film?  

It is not like I am comparing apples to oranges here.  We compare the ability of negative film to slide film all the time in capturing highlights vs. shadows...an especially frequent topic is how much better negative film prints with an underexposed image than slide film does with the same....

People compare different slide films all the time for grain, latitude, warmth vs. coolness.  

I have worked much with a Nikon 990 camera in the last two years so I am familiar with all the technical talk about white balance, histograms (use 'em all the time since the LCDs on those 99x series cameras are lousy in daylight)...but I don't recall seeing a discussion about what medium (digital vs. slide film) captures more stops in one image.  And see the conditions set forth above.

I can spend six months on the road in SE Asia for the cost of one digital camera body...

Thanks,

Robert DeCandido, PhD :cool:
Well, Robert, it does have a wide dynamic range; its just a different method of shooting.  Just expose for the highlights.  There are many S2 shooters (no doubt D100 as well) who do this and get results with a great dynamic range.